I’m Tristan Winters. S. Africa Bitcoin Xchange Operator, Bitcoin Writer, and Now Steemian.

in #investments8 years ago

Hey Y’all,

I'm Tristan Winters.

I have been working actively in the Bitcoin space since 2012.

Exchange Operator and Writer

I contribute / have contributed regularly for:

  1. Bitcoin Magazine.
  2. Bitscan.
  3. Brave New Coin.

And various publications in finance.

Most of my attention is now focused on S. Africa Bitcoin Exchange iceCUBED.
There I manage the blog and do business development.

We're one of the leading bitcoin businesses in Africa.
I do biz dev. for the exchange. I also maintain the blog and 25,000 mailing list.

I have a solid understanding of how Steemit works now. I'm impressed.

I spoke about my desire to add Steem to the exchange here.

I've successfully convinced my colleagues. We're adding Steem tokens next month!

My Journey to Steem, Through Bitshares

I was introduced by JonnyBitcoin to Bitshares a while ago.

He’s a massive believer and convinced me to invest.
It’s one of the more interesting blockchain projects in the space.

I feel that it always suffered from poor marketing, compared to other Bitcoin 2.0 style projects.

As a result, it never achieved the attention that it deserved.
Just goes to show what a hype machine can do.

Steemit So Far

I was also introduced to Steemit just before the recent hype cycle.
I’ve been hooked ever since. Check out my content.

There has been a lot of hype about social media and news curation on the blockchain.
It seems Steem has the best fighting chance of realising that dream.

It is exciting to watch the network effects take hold.

Why I'll Continue to Champion Steemit

Through our Exchange we were the 1st to introduce Steem to Africa. You can read that here

The response was really incredible.
This sort of monetised micro-blogging could work well in our Africa markets.

Network effects are tough. And that is just for a conventional social media platform.
Trying to incorporate an entirely new technology like blockchain, requires an entirely new approach.

Building a monetization model directly into a social media platform requires seriously novel thinking.

The rewards are potentially huge.
Greed, as Gordon Gecko put it, is good. It is the engine of capitalism. It is the greatest human motivator.

I look forward to watching this develop.
And also supporting the platform in my work at the S. Africa exchange and in my writing.

Sort:  

Hey @t-winters welcome to steemit, being a writer here is very exciting.

Yeah, it's quite addictive. They know how to make a UI that draws you in. ;-)

I hope you have a great idea for steemit :)
#cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68092.03
ETH 3536.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75