💡 jabi... Guaranteed way to immediately double your investment...

in #investment6 years ago (edited)

If I told you of an investment

that for every penny you invested,
you would gain $0.02+ of value,
would you be interested?

Such an investment exists today.

Introducing the 1909 to 1982 copper penny...

1909-1982-copper-penny-cent.png
Image Source

These pennies are:

  • 95% copper
  • 5% zinc

According to coinflation.com

$0.0211008 is the melt value for the 1909-1982 copper cent on April 25, 2018.

Note: They also say...

The 1943 steel cent fabricated during WWII does not have a copper/zinc metal composition.

Introducing coinflation.com

This is my goto site when I need to quickly check the value of old coins.
Visit http://www.coinflation.com/

  • Top of the site is a list articles about coins, metals and inflation.
  • Middle of the site is current coins melt value.
    • Your actual melt value of these coins range from 5-87%
      Meaning you cannot "invest" in these coins for their intrinsic value.
  • Bottom of the site are the older coins made with valuable metal.
    • If you were able to purchase these at actual face value, you would a coin worth from 211 - 1860% what you paid.
      • The pre-1982 copper pennies are valued at 211% their face value.
        The 1942-1945 nickels are valued at 1860% their face value.
    • So why I am telling you to invest in the pennies instead of those nickels?
      The pennies are much more easy to come by.

If you click on any of the coins, it opens up a new page with more specific info:
Example http://www.coinflation.com/coins/1909-1982-Lincoln-Cent-Penny-Value.html

  • Pics
  • Mint specs
  • They then show you how they calculate the melt value of the coin.
  • They show you current auctions on ebay for these coins.
  • They tell you how many were minted and collectible values.
  • Some more ebay auctions.
  • Last but not least, long term charts for the value of the metals in the coin.

As you can tell, I highly recommend this web site!

Where can I find pre-1982 pennies?

Just go to the bank and purchase several rolls.

  • I find about half of them to be the older pennies.
    Keep them and return the others to the bank.
    • You can have a fun night with the kids or grandkids sitting around the table going through a pile of old pennies.

Look where you walk. Most people today are too lazy to pick up a penny if they see it.
You might be picking up something actually valued at 2 pennies! Now is it worth it?

What can I do with them?

You cannot melt them at this time!

You can sell them on ebay.

  • You can make a small profit, but be sure to make them pay for shipping!

You can hoard them.

  • Maybe some day, you will be able to melt them.
  • In case of a doomsday scenario, these would be a prepper's dream.
    You could trade them for "stuff" you needed to survive.
    Grandpa always told about 22 shells being worth a penny. And my uncle could get 2 pennies for a rabbit. A money making endeavor if you can use 1 bullet per rabbit...
    We might see that scenario again...

Random thoughts

You might consider holding other coins besides these pennies.

  • They take up less space, but cost more.
    • Steem & SBDs take up no room, but if the grid goes down, they aren't going to help you much...

Jars work pretty good for storage.

  • Socks work pretty good too, with the added benefit of ABRACADABRA turning into a self-defense weapon if need be.

Google says:

Because of the rising price of nickel and copper that began in 2005, the United States passed a law that made it illegal to melt pennies and nickels for their metal content. Additionally, it is illegal to carry more than five dollars worth of pennies and nickels outside of the United States when traveling.

Comments - Let's discuss hoarding coins

Which ones do you hoard?
Why?
What is the most likely "doomsday" scenario?
Did you know this about pennies?
Do you hoard food and ammunition?
...???...???...
Let's talk...

What is jabi?

jabi - Just Another Bright Idea
pronounce jab eye
jabitikilogo-120.jpg

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

wizsmall.png
Who I am

@WizarDave
Sort:  

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

I guess someone makes big cash out of this in big scale...

It is a bit time consuming, but it could be automated I suppose.

Cool tip on buying the pennies from the bank. Wouldn't have thought to try that, even though we've rolled pennies and other coins up for exchange a few times. A doubling of your investment is definitely noteworthy. That means I will only need 50 million pennies to become a millionaire instead of 100 million! Woohoo! I'm on my way! As soon as they let me melt them. And I find them.

What's with the $5 penny/nickel limit when traveling outside the U.S.? Was it such a problem that they had to ban it? I've never carried any change of any kind when traveling outside the U.S. I've found it's better to use the currency of the country you're in, rather than use USD.

I hope you never have to move if you start collecting pennies with that goal in mind...

  • It takes 1 square foot to store 49,152 pennies and that would weigh 307.2 pounds.
    • 1 million pennies would be about 4' x 5' x 1' and weigh 6273.6 pounds.
      • 10 million pennies would only need 6' x 6' x 6' to store, but they would weigh 31.3 tons. If you stacked them it would only be 9.88 mile high stack.
  • In other words, I don't think you could ever move! haha
    • No, I didn't just make up those figures. I read this article

No clue about that limit when travelling. I didn't know that, but it was attached to the rest of the quote, and I thought it was interesting, so I included it.

  • The good news is that they won't ask you about all that STEEM & SBD you've been collecting... 😎

Totally off subject. Is your SteemWorld working properly? I'm not seeing anything under recent posts. Also https://steemstats.com/ isn't showing any links to posts. Hmm

So, I'm answering this question seven hours or so after you asked it, so hopefully you were able to get steemworld working. I haven't noticed the recent posts section not working, but it did have trouble sticking with a node a couple days ago during the spam attack. Right now, it seems to be functioning. I've been noticing both it and GINAbot being slower to notify me of things, too, which I'm assuming is all related.

Maybe I'll just get one of those train cars and bury it like a bunker and then use it to store my pennies and my survival supplies. :)

Yes, Steemworld started working. Still no links on SteemStats...

Perfect solution. Better get 2 train cars. 1 for pennies and 1 for you and family. haha

I hoard any unique coin I come across.

Thanks for the article and web page. I will likely spend a nice chunk out of my day looking through it.

You're welcome @rentmoney!

  • Yeah it's a great site. Tons of info. Back when I was buying coins and metals off ebay, I would spend hours trying to find good deals, comparing ebay and coinflation... It was very fun!

Very good. I also just wrote a piece on Stacking Copper

Are you familiar with the #steemsilvergold community? If you are writing about stacking metals there are plenty of like minded souls there who will appreciate your content.

Cool. Enjoyed the read. I have some copper bars and hmm I forget. I will have to look sometime.

  • Yes I'm familiar with SSG. I'm a vet, so follow @guiltieparties. So get notified of both his vet posts and SSG posts. Perhaps some day I'll have enough to join that fun!

We apologize for the continued delay of our upvotes. We’re working hard to obtain more SP to keep up with all of our amazing Thunder Supporters. Thank you for your continued patience and support! You are the lightning to our THUNDER!

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.08 SBD ($0.081 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.24+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64116.01
ETH 2758.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65