My Crypto Investments - Diversification and EOS Next Week

in #investment7 years ago (edited)

@robertdurst10's Crypto Investment Portfolio



Every week I get a nice little payout from Steemit. With the goal of eventually buying a new laptop, I decided to invest in what I believe to be one of the most stable crypto's, BTC.

However, I won't have enough dough to buy a laptop for atleast the next few months. So, I decided to invest my crypto in a more interesting (and risky) manner. Below is what I have invested in so far. It may seem like this was my investment strategy:

And honestly, that is not far off. Nevertheless, I have included my reasoning for investing in each crypto so you can make your own judgement.


Dogecoin


Reasoning: Why not? Now you'll probably laugh and say "For real though why invest in Doge?" I'd respond "Because I want to ..."


Bitcoin


Reasoning: A crypto that is very mainstream and has been doing well consistently. Originally all my STEEM/SBD went right to BTC, but then I decided to make life more interesting.


DigitalCash


Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 8.07.28 PM.png

Reasoning: Supported by Trezor. Yep, sophisticated and complex ALGO.


ZCash


Reasoning: Some big companies associated with this one. Also, it is supported by Trezor.


Ripple


Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 6.37.52 PM.png

Reasoning: Ripple has great daily trade volume. It is also very hyped so I decided to hop on the bandwagon.


Bitshares


Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 6.37.47 PM.png

Reasoning: In support of the graphene blockchain, I had to invest. Also, these low price currencies excite me because they remind me of STEEM (one day $0.30, the next $1.00).


NEM


Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 6.41.16 PM.png

Reasoning: Read a post by someone here on Steemit that reccomended checking NEM out. Many times I disregard such advice and regret it the next week. So, I followed my heart and invested. This is probably the point now where I should insert the article. However, I am unsure who wrote it and when I read it. I tried using AskSteem but still no luck (however very cool search app).


Future Plans



I invest on a week by week basis. This week my estimated payout will be (I power down every Sunday):

STEEM: 50 and SBD: 32

My plan is to convert this into ETH first and foremost.

50 STEEM → 0.33 ETH
32 SBD → 0.15 ETH

Then, I plan on participating in the EOS ICO. Here are a few of my concerns:

  • Have to use Tor because this ICO is illegal in USA (???)
  • Timing of investment - Should I invest early, late, first day, second day (???)
  • Wallet to store EOS tokens - How does this work (???)

This is my first ICO, and I am an ICO newbie so bear with me. I am going to do some research between now and Monday. If you have any advice, thoughts, concerns, please let me know in the comment section. I am very excited!


If you like this post or are interested in seeing how this complex, sophisticated, thought-out trading algo performs, toss me a follow: @robertdurst10. Cheers!



SteemEngineBannerForSteemit.gif

Sort:  

I was excited about eos, but im reluctant. Becuase the company itself states...you are not allowed, dont buy it..... i dont think they have any obligation to honor my investment and furthermore, may be legally compelled to give me nothing. Also, why do people in the US think they will be able trade a coin not allowed to be bought by us persons? So im conflicted but still want in. I just got into my first ico 21 million. Im really excited. They are using the funds to make a decentralized tv series about taking down the banks

The TV show thing sounds promising.

I did not know about the EOS ICO being restricted. that's really unfortunate. I'm pissed 😡 frankly to hear this.

Yes me too. I was waiting for eos like a 5yr old for his birthday. I got the email and was pumped. Then i read no us persons allowed and was kind of shocky, in denial. Simply not used to being told no...its usually, only us persons can participate! So im just not sure if i want to risk any potential consequences. We need a lawyer or someone inside eos to enlighten us

We need these old centralized bodies to butt the F out of our affairs and let us put all contracts and legislation on the blockchain. We're good, we don't need 'em any more -- Thanks... that's how I want to act... :(

That sounds really cool! Yeah the whole EOS thing kind of scares me. That is why I am dedicating a portion of this weekend to read up before spending my hard earned Steemit money.

Yeah i figure worst case, i lose everything i put in, best case, ill be a millionare. I like the 21million ico cause they are actually doing more than just a coin which means im now in the movie biz and i could also profit from the coin itself. Meanwhile, i know nothing about icos or 21 million other than what i see on the internet. Its open til the 28th...
https://steemit.com/ico/@live2love/21million-initial-token-offering-to-fund-hard-hitting-tv-series

Thanks mate...checking it out

Honestly I don't see why Doge isn't a penny?? I buy doge just cause, and it has a very strong community behind them.

I like ripple too, bought them at 700sats, hopefully it will continue to moon.

Unreal man. Yeah the hype about Ripple is real (and also the hate). I guess we will see where it goes.

Just got yourself a follower. I am also looking into new coins and plan to update as I invest some more. Currently broke though.

What do you invest in? Followed back mate!

Right now its been Bitcoin, NEM, Iconomi, Golem, and my first ico was Wagerr. I was safe and have over 90 percent in bitcoin but I slowly want to invest in coins I believe in long term. I also got 5 dollars of dash from a small twitter payout Amanda B Johnson did.

Currently I'm looking at IOTA and OAX as well as Antshares.

I am looking at iota too. I had to sell most of my ripple, bts to get eth to buy into the 21million ico

I have looked at Antshares as well but there is not really a Mac wallet and I couldn't create a wallet on their online platform.

Curious why you invested in NEM? I mean I did, but it was sort of random haha

The japanese are ahead on cryptocurrency acceptance and thr technology seems good. Its underpriced due to its low level marketing but it can really grow once marketing takes off. Id say its like ripple but for the people and not the banks.

Awesome, makes me feel better haha

Like it

I would gladly buy your dogecoins. I want them all.

No Ethereum?!?

Flash crash scared me. But getting some this weekend to prepare for EOS ICO.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43