Will Steem ever take over?

in #investment6 years ago

For a while I’ve been thinking about the value of flags. Those who are new to Steem might not be familiar with them, but I can assure you everyone gets acquainted with them at some point in time. I keep on thinking about this because aside from this particular project I’m not familiar with a social media platform that encourages them or an equivalent for that matter.


img src

The indisputable giant, Facebook


Has had enough experience on the subject to know the potential downside of negative stimuli. As someone who still participates of their platform for I’m well aware that aside of all their shortcomings, the recent scandals and all the negative press, they are still indisputably number one.

I’m being objective about this, because I’m aware that even though they were not the first to create social media, Facebook was the one that perfected it. Through many changes in their algorithm, the feed and the ability to interact, they effectively created a platform that has become the standard for online social interaction.

Which is why I’m asking myself today….

Was steem even designed to take over?

The answer may be a disappointing no. I’m of the idea that the fact that we have self policing in the form of flags will always be the key distinction that will make sure facebook remains seated on its throne. This is not me saying that I’m changing my stance on Steem or even cryptocurrencies in general, I’m saying that without a doubt I’m convinced that Steem was not intended to be the next facebook.

The creation of applications on top of this blockchain might offer a facebook killer in the future, that is definitely a possibility, but as we stand right now, it's very unlikely and I’m completely at peace with that notion.

Am I saying flags should disappear all together?

Maybe not, I’m not sure about this. The need for a community that can self police is crucial to the sustainability of this project no doubt. My concern is more for the accounts that get caught in the crossfire simply by making a comment in the wrong thread, being a little too opinionated or even being the targets of jealousy, let's be honest.

Will this stop Steem from going mainstream? In its current form, I happen to believe it will. The upcoming upgrades to the protocol and the introduction of SMT’s might change the landscape, but as I see it now, it's very unlikely.

I’ll keep thinking about this some more…

@chbartist

Sort:  

I have wondered this same thing many times but I honestly never alluded to the flags. It is a genuinely good point. My biggest concern was that as more people learned of Steemit and joined, quality content would drop. Which, honestly, it has. I guess the flags go right along with that. We flag people who are abusing the community and that sends out a message that the community is somewhat intolerable. I do believe that Steemit is the next generation of social media and it will have a strong run but Facebook has roots that run deeper and further at the present time. Either way I'm staying put right here. My content may not be up to par with some of the bigger bloggers here but it was never appreciated on Steemit. Any post that raises a ponderable is a good post so KUDOS on this post.

Its about playing the long game, like with many other things in life... nothing great is easy, nothing easy is great.

I totally concur with you sir. The fact that there is self policing which most times are implemented as a weapon of jealousy has made most reputable steemians enemies whereas a social media platform should exist for friends creation and socialization.
it has also affected the rate at which people post in most communities and use tags and have also made most minnows decline interest on Steemit.
I suggest it should have been left for the general admin to decide after reports are filed against someone and not an individual power.
I'm happy a renowned steemian like you have the same view as I do. Thanks once again.

cheers friend

I think the idea of taking over facebook is great in theory but in practice might not be that realistic. While there are a lot of people like us that are passionate about decentralization and blockchain etc, there are far more people who could care less about their privacy and powerful organisations, this has been evident with Snowden and Wikileaks releases. As a result we will struggle to surpass the big players I believe, however that is not to say we won't take away a decent amount of market share.

Maybe we are not meant to.. maybe, this is me saying I'm disappointed, I'm just making a point.

Great Content!

Can we continue to connect with each other as we submit more content?

Upvoted!

Luppers :)

@ned should see this post.

I think steemit needs some re-structuring if it is to take over. We need a free zone not a place of investors. China is about to launch an international version of a social media plartform based on EOS and it is aimed at making all users equal, no control of the reward pool by investors. This is what we need on steemit before we look at the future.

Really, can you give more information on the Chinese version?

It's called @ono.chat. It's currently in chinese, but either this month or early June they releasing an English version. Stay updated!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

smartsteem upvote in the amount of $68.29 STU, $94.77 USD.
smartmarket upvote in the amount of $1.27 STU, $1.77 USD.

For a total calculated value of $70 STU, $97 USD before curation, with a calculated curation of $17 USD.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform and is by no means a judgement as to the quality of this post.

Wow so nice post thank you please like me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99