Stoic-Philosophy Day #4 | Insights | The Three Great (fundamental) Principles

in #investing7 years ago (edited)

How are you finding your personal luck? How do you measure success? And how are you dealing with everyday challenges like anger, sadness and the question for higher purposes. Why have George Washington, Friedrich-The-Great, top athletes or top-performer embraced the wisdom of the ancient Stoics? Because they realize that the most valuable wisdom is timeless and that philosophy is for living a better life.
Follow my daily Articles and improv youself and your everyday life

Stoic-Philosophy Day #4 | Insights | The Three Great (fundamental) Principles

Insight, execution and willpower. These are the three interconnected and decisive disciplines of the stoicism and the overarching chapters of these daily series.

  1. direct your attenation
  2. Exectute your actions in an appropriate manner
  3. Accept willingly what is outside of your controll.

In the End this is all thats needed.

A Personal anecdote:

There was this one time, I hat let a frind talk me into an risiky investment of a kind I woudn't usally do. I knew not much more about the Investment my frind told me about. For Investments I have a mental checklist I normaly go trouth before buying something and if I couldn't check every box, I would not buy.
This Time I made the investment. My intelligent and charismic convinced me to buy. Wihle I was holding this new position that doesn't seems to made a lot of sense to me, whe my frind was not around made my tremendously nervous. I Checked the price of it many times trough the day, and it slowley began to controll my toughts. I had many other investments - all myself handpicked, never got nervous. After Weeks of up and downs and me not knowing waht to think of it I sold it with a small gain. (pure luck)
But even after I sold it, I wasn't at peace with myself. The arguments of my smart frind haunted my and the FMO (Fear Of Missing Out) began to set in. (FMO was in retrospect also a reason why I bought it initially)

What did I do?

  1. Redirected my attention (Deinstalled the App on my Phone so I couldn't check the price of it all the time. To fight FMO - so I wasn't temted to check it so often what would make me nerveous.
  2. Exectute your actions in an appropriate manner (Made a promise to not so look at the Price for the forseable future when I was using the PC)
  3. Accept willingly what is outside of your controll I made peace with myself that I had sold my holdings and I would never initiate another position. I wasn't at thpe price anymore -> so I wasn't tempted what made it easier to accept that it was no more a part of my Investment activity and my ilfe.

Was there ever a similar Situation in your life? Or an occation when this knowlege would have helped you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59605.87
ETH 2518.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44