You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Have you ever invented anything? Prize to the winner!

in #invention7 years ago (edited)

A friend and I came up with a great one.
Shark jerky....We had access to as much shark as we could ever use from the Japanese market, they only want the fins and the rest is a trash fish to them used for fertilizer, bait and pet food so it was cheep. we developed the flavor cures along with the right amount of smoke and temperatures. Well we came up with a name and started contacting wholesalers and stores to get a feel for the market and received loads of great feedback and everyone we talked to thought it was a great idea and thus Jaws Jerky was born...or I should say still born. Apparently Universal Studios also thought it was a great idea and their lawyer told me as much as he demanded a small fortune to licence their "Jaws" trademark oh and 10% of profits O.o
Right after that I invented a mind blowing, gut wrenching, hangover that lasts for 3 days

Sort:  

Hi chromiumone, just sent you some steem (I think it will work out as more than the SBD from this post) rather than wait for the payout. Thanks for the interesting comments! See you around.

Thanks Benjojo :)
Nice to wake up to some free Steem !!

Congratulations @chromiumone.

You are correct....lovely to wake up to some free Steem.....^_^

All the best. Cheers.

That's an incredible story! I can't believe they were able to insert their filthy greed into your fantastic idea. I think it is horrific how many sharks are harvested for their fins every year....apex predators safe-guard the health of an ecosystem. But if that is going to happen, at least you came up with a higher value use for the cast-offs! Jaws the film didn't come up with the word Jaws!! IP is a real drag on innovation. I really feel for you bud.

Well in all honesty......I'm going to date myself here.....it was 1987 and Jaws 3-D had just come out a couple of months before and the marketing, packaging and such were very much infringing on their trademark. We were only about 22 years old at the time as well and didn't know much about the legalities involved, we just had a great idea and ran with it.

Oh fair enough. Those poor IP lawyers get a bad rap don't they. I take back some of my indignation! Still, the way the world works dampened your enthusiasm which is still a shame! ;)

Yeah I agree with you about the apex predators and from what I understand they don't even bring the sharks in any more for the most part, they cut off the fins and dump them overboard.

Indeed. An absolutely diabolical and inhumane practice that should be stopped immediately. So very sad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18