Introduction to Steemit: Narconaught 9/7/17

in #introductions7 years ago (edited)

New Member: Narconaught

WIN_20170907_09_21_26_Pro.jpg

Hey Steemit!

My name is David (narconaught) and I'm from the Southeast United States. I've been on Steemit for about 3 days now and it's been awesome so far. I've met some really cool people and received a ton of help with all my questions. Some of the members here have already gone above and beyond and provided me with expert level guidance which I find AMAZING!

My Family

family photo.jpg

I have a wonderful family which I couldn't be more proud of. We were a family of 4 until just last month when our newest addition arrived at the end of July.
Atticus.jpg
He is already a handful and keeps us up ALL NIGHT!!! But he couldn't be sweeter and I can't wait to see all these little nuggets grow and flourish.

Who am I?

I live to serve. I started out back in 2001, like many American's, watching the twin tower attacks. I was in college at the time and just couldn't believe what was going on. Soon after, America was invading the Middle East. A bunch of us guys back then felt the "Call of Duty" as we watched American tanks storm through Iraq. Before I knew it, I was there myself with the ARMY in 2006-2007 and then in Afghanistan in 2009-2010. I specialized in line of sight communication and worked to keep the infantry in constant contact with leaders behind the lines. I received specialized training in radio frequencies, antenna's, and satellite communications. I also setup LAN networks and managed Secret Internet Protocol Router Networks (SIPRNET).

In addition to my military service, I've been a police officer for almost 10 years now. The area I work is a huge metropolitan area in the SE U.S. I can't really go into where and I'll have to omit some things due to the nature of my work and to keep my family safe. I've already probably shared too much, but in the spirit of Steemit and to foster trust, I've decided to share some of my life.

I've been a Detective for 4 years specializing in clandestine operations, specifically drug related crimes. My main focus now is the dismantling of Drug Trafficking Organizations (D.T.O's) and Money Laundering Organizations (M.L.O's) that operate out of Latin America. It has been a wild ride thus far and I can't believe that I get paid to do it. Now before you rip my head off about the "War on Drugs" let me be clear. I could care less about Drugs. I personally, think they should all be legal, to a point. I'll get into this on future posts but just know that I'm no anti-drug hardliner.

Crypto

ETH.pngneo.png
(Source: www.coinmarketcap.com)

I've been on the crypto radar since the middle of 2015 when I started running into more and more drug investigations that were being funded through BTC. I started looking into and began monitoring darknet sites like AlphaBay. As I did my research, I began looking into ETH when it started blowing up. I started investing in January of 2017 when it was near the $10 mark. I made considerable purchases which have been very profitable. Due to the success of that pick, I started looking more and more of the alt-coins out there. I've invested and made good earnings in Monero, Neo, and Lisk. I've held a few other obscure coins but they haven't done much. It's been fun reading up, studying, and then "betting" on these technologies.

As a result, I got into mining a little bit, just before the huge boom that came in June/July. I have two rigs right now that mine ETH and SIA. I don't have a ton of programming skill but I tinker a lot (build my son a gameboy from a raspberry pi) so it is a fun hobby. It pays for the new mini-van I had to buy anyway, lol!

What To Expect From Me

I want to be a contributor to the site in any way I can help. I had all intentions of being a witness but after reading up on a few articles that came out recently, I think I'll hold off. It seems that part of Steemit is secure and doesn't really need any currently. I'm open to it though if the need arises or I'm asked to do so.

I plan on putting out informative articles about policing, undercover clandestine type of operations, technology news, and crypto news. Those are my passions right now. I want to be helpful to new and incoming members, assisting them as I've been so graciously been guided through this wonderful community.

I'm a positive person, not some grumpy disenfranchised cop, so DO NOT expect any negative rhetoric coming from me. My purpose is to shed light and bring a positive outlook to policing. I hope to bridge the gap between what ordinary people think and the reality of policing from a first person view from my perspective. If that's even possible.

So with that being said, here I am! Feel free to give me a shout about anything, anytime. DM or find me in discord. Follow me for almost daily posts about drugs, crypto, food, and policing.

Thank you all and happy steeming!

Sort:  

Hi, @Narconaught, Let me welcome you to Steemit. Hope you gonna have fun with our community. Feel free to follow me @rightuppercorner Have a great time @rightuppercorner

thanks! following!

Welcome brother! Hope you enjoy your time here! Just a tip, edit the post a switch those tags around. Make #introduceyourself first, more people will see it and #upvote it!

Thanks! will do!

Welcome :)!

sup.gif

Here a few tips for starters snce you probably won't get any advice from those who comment under here, here's what I gathered thus far.
It's tough to make money at first so if that's your main cause to be on here grind that into your head straight away, that doesn't mean you shouldn't post content, you should, but enganging with others in the comment sections to grow your following is your best bet. Which categories?

Probably the introduce yourself one and the photography section but you can choose things that you have knowledge about too and then go from there just know that there is a lot of crap on here so plowing through that just to connect with others can be tough. Cheers.

Thank you for your advice. I've noticed that over the past 2 days. I don't expect to get paid straight away or even at all really. As long as I can be helpful and contribute, I'm fine. Glad to have met you and I'll follow along with you. Thanks!

Welcome to Steemit! Thanks for introducing yourself and hope to see more posts from you. Please follow back and be awesome. Thanks!

Most definitely will follow! Great to meet you!

Welcome to the Steemit.com community! I’m also new here.

You have a beautiful family!
Followed and upvoted. Please consider following me and checking out my past posts:

https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@rebele93/another-minnow-learning-to-swim-in-a-very-big-pond

https://steemit.com/photography/@rebele93/2017-total-solar-eclipse-images

https://steemit.com/photography/@rebele93/tonight-s-moon-9-5-2017

Cheers,
Mike Bryant (AKA: Rebele93)
https://steemit.com/@rebele93

Thanks! I'll do the same!

This post received a 10% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @discordiant from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

A new Steemian :-) hello @narconaught I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Welcome to Steem @narconaught I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit! I’ll follow you, please follow me as well, Upvote and Resteem so we can grow together. Thank you

Most definitely! Will follow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70