You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Jeremy - Published Author, Harvard Graduate... and Daily Stoner

in #introduction8 years ago (edited)

Welcome! Yes, Cannabis (the correct term) should be 100% legalized, as it has medical uses and is far less damaging than either alcohol or cigarettes. The whole "potheads" are unsuccessful thing is total nonsense as history shows us that some of the greatest entrepreneurs (Bill Gates is a great business man but a douche bag elitist) and philosophers have been "potheads".

Sort:  

Awesome poster, and I hear you on the nomenclature. "Cannabis" is a much more ancient word unladen by bigotry, and I hesitated before using "marijuana." But like "stoner," I believe we can take it back! What do you think? Is it better to try to redeem an historically tainted term or simply to avoid it?

My stance is to avoid the use of the word "marijuana" and use "cannabis" as much as I can. It's respect for the power of the plant medicine.

Well that is a tough question. I think we have to take back the term Marijuana because you can't just expect words or ideas to vanish from existence. People will always call it that no matter how much we avoid using it, so the better option is to take the word back and therefore remove the stigma it has in society. Honestly we live in a society that could use Marijuana / Cannabis whatever you want to call it to calm everyone down:

I covered this awhile back in my YouTube video I uploaded to my blog on here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.13
ETH 3187.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45