Sort:  

My Reddit Karma count tells a story that highlights some of the issues of Reddit's reward system.

The break down is roughly 160k link karma and 200k comment karma. The comment karma is indeed mostly original content, and took 5 years to gather. Meanwhile, the 160k link karma was reposts from other sites, and took roughly 12 days to acquire. Once the system is learned, gaming it for (meaningless) karma gains is easy. Of course the only real gains are realized by Reddit itself. And within that lies the issue.

Welcome. I look forward to working with you as we build Steemit.

Your story would make a great Steemit ad: "After x years and x postings and x karma on Reddit, all I've succeeded in doing is enriching that site's owners. I heard about Steemit, which is a new site that pays you to post and upvote. With two posts so far I've made over $1500 on Steemit!" Or something like that.

Sure, except for the part where, as far as I can gather, the "$1500" is meaningless in it's own right. ;) Otherwise I appreciate the sentiment, so thank you.

You should of course wait until you got your payouts after July 4th ;-)

It does mean real money for you. At least 50% on July 4th.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68072.80
ETH 3780.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72