Mid-Life Crisis or simply Waking TFU?

in #introduction8 years ago (edited)

Last week I turned 41 years old. Holy fucking shit. If I'm lucky I will get around 82 spins around our sun. I'm a father, I'm a Navy veteran, and from a few years ago I am also an expat. Living in Sweden has really changed my views of America over the years. It's amazing what I've learned when I'm not bombarded by the echo chamber. We visit often, and there's this general unease/stress that I feel in the states, I know it's real even if I can't put my finger on it.

I moved to Stockholm and setup my life the only way I knew how. I got an IT job, a car, a mortgage. I own a few things, or should I say a few things own me?

The need to move money over the ocean led me to Bitcoin. Bitcoin led me to alt-podcasts. And they led me to anarcho-capitalism. All of these have fueled my newfound critical thinking capabilities. Holy shit the world is not what I thought it is.

Now I've joined this new social network filled with like minded souls, and I'm grateful to be here. I don't know what to expect, I just want to keep learning and seeking truth. Peace to all.

Sort:  

Welcome! I have found that the rabbit hole goes very deep.

@seanmeeh42

Great story. Welcome to the community. I am sure we have much to share

Welcome here, and welcome to the wake up!

I have had a couple wake ups so far, first deprogramming and second the filtering of the bombardment from alt media. Both are a trap of sorts, so pace yourself and look at real life unfolding at the moment in your space.

@seanmeeh42 welcome!
Posting a pic of you holding a paper that says STEEMIT on top, the date you joined under it and your name (nick name) not your account name or perhaps that would actually do, too would actually verify your account and give it a face. That's how it's done here ...
Happy Steeming!

sort of like a ransom note... here's proof of life.. now upvote LOL

Welcome! As an expat myself (8 years in Japan) I completely understand how you feel. I get the same exact "unease" when visiting the US as well. I also can't quite articulate it, but I know in my gut it just doesn't feel right. I attribute my own experience of living out of the US that led me to the same sort of thinking. Looking forward to more from you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95