Intro- HEY HEY

in #introduction5 years ago

Hi Steemit Crew,

My name is Jesse and i'm so pleased to meet you all. I'm living in Canada and i'm just trying to live my life by treating others with respect.

I've had a difficult life and went through lots of struggles and painful events, that i've had to heal from, and man, this took lots of commitment. I was an angry son of a bitch for many years and I would explode when i experienced unfair treatment or I perceived a threat against me.

This got me locked up, when I knocked a guy unconscious and I spent 8 months in prison. While I was incarcerated I spent my days feeling like a piece of shit and I had panic attacks every day. When i got out, I was filled with rage and I felt even worse than before.

I ended up living on the streets for a few years, where I developed a herion addiction and I hit my lowest point ever. I would hope to die everyday and I wished someone would just kill me and take me out of my misery.

Then one day while I was slumped in the corner shooting up a man approached me and asked me what my name was and if I wanted to have lunch. I could not believe someone was talking to me and being nice to me because I thought I was worthless and useless. I told him my name and he said his name is Wilfred and then I said i'm not hungry because i need to shoot up now, so please go.

He said ok well i'll come back tomorrow and can we meet, i want to spend time with you. I was suspicious and i wasn't sure what to make of this fellow, but I reluctantly agreed and we set-up a time to meet the next day.

So the next day came around and I saw Wilfred walking towards me with a smile on his face and a hot coffee in his hand for me. His demeanor made me feel at ease and for some reason I could tell that he was sincere and a kind-hearted soul.

He handed me some cloths and said I deserve a good life and I just need support. I cried and I was ashamed of releasing my feelings because I kept them bottled up for years.

We developed a friendship and he encouraged me get off the drugs and talked about enrolling in university and pursue an undergraduate degree in Sociology, because I told him my interests and he recommended this program to me.

I suffered for months detoxing from the drugs, and this was so hard for me but Wilfred was there every step of the way. I was so surprised when I got into university a year later, I could hardly believe what I was doing.

Wilfred taught me the power of prayer and releasing pain and trauma experienced from childhood. We would do exercises together and sometimes I wanted to run away because the memories were hard to face. I persevered and it felt like a weight had been lifted off my shoulders and I felt like a new man.

So fast forward 10 years later and i'm living a healthy lifestyle, working with helping the homeless, these kind-hearted souls, and i'm happily married with an incredible 2 year old son.

It only takes someone caring about you, in order for you to realize that you are deserving of love and respect. When you are deep in the gutter of despair, sometimes you just need to strong hand to lift you up because sometimes we can feel weak on our own.

We are all deserving of love and we are all human and equal to one another, we just need to help each other.

My dear friend Wilfred passed away 2 years ago, and I miss him terribly but his memory lives on in my heart and he taught me so much, he was an Angel on Earth.

I look forward to getting to know you all and helping one another.

Jesse

Sort:  

Hi Jesse. What a powerful testimony you share, thank you.

I came across your having the misfortune of being trolled by one who is clever and enjoys using the cleverness to bait others. I am hopeful that you can leave them to their own devices and not allow them to suck you into their pools of desperation. Sadly, the person you came to the defense of revealed the hate in their heart that allows for the same generalizations as those who baited her. None of this will change unless we leave them to gnash their teeth and we join together finding common ground DESPITE their attempts to spark hatred and fear within us. I sense by the way you handle yourself this is also a potential swirling within you, so hopeful you do not take my words as butting in where they don't belong.

I am sorry for your loss of your friend Wilfred. True friends are a rare treasure, and he lives on in the choices and manifestations you bring to the rest of us.

Welcome to Steemit. I plan on writing a how to soon for newer members, but have a few tips I would like to share with you.

Find like minded individuals who share interests, and comment on their blogs and on others comments on those blogs. Don't horde your upvotes, even though they are dust right now. Vote on posts (not comments) until you get above the dust threshold which is .02. If you want to grow a strong foundation here, grow your Steem Power here as quickly as you can. Everything grows from it and one day you will have the possibility of real financial freedom if you tend to it as you would a fine garden. Leave others to their drama, and focus on bigger pictures.

There are several communities that are focused on helping new members grow their accounts here. They are:

https://steemit.com/steem/@steemcommunity/250-new-minnows-event-update-and-list-of-accounts-to-support

That is a witness account run by @paulag and @abh12345.

Another great project is ran by @thedarkhorse. He has been delegating to people, and also runs the payitforward weekly competition.

You can find his competition here: https://steemit.com/@pifc

If you get involved in the communities there, you will be able to strengthen your foundation here and find many great hearted people who care about you strengthening the community.

Hi there, and i appreciate your condolences and dear Wilfred was a truly amazing man. You are right his influence in my life lives on in how I am living my life today and I am truly blessed. I don't know how I got to be so lucky with meeting this person and when I think back on it, I get such a warm feeling in my heart.
It's helpful to know some tips about Steemit, because to tell you the truth, I really have no idea about anything on this platform and i'll read the links you sent me. Much appreciated.
With regards to those two users, I agree they are both acting in a negative fashion and it's very sad and unnecessary. I see one user as taking pleasure in making others feel bad and the other user as someone who does not take pleasure in upsetting people, but gave in to being antagonized and that brought out the worst in her, I can see that.
I have a special place in my heart for the Indigenous people, since I completed courses in university on these people. I learned the atrocities that were carried out against them and it was very shocking and many Indigenous are traumatized today and greatly affected by the horrendous abuse they suffered.
As a person who WAS filled with anger myself, I can relate to these people and I see their anger and hate as crying out for love. They need healing. As we go through life, we hopefully improve how we live our lives and make better choices. Sometimes, we need someone to show us out of the darkness because we have a hard time getting there on our own.
I have reached out to this user and I have not gotten a response, so I will have to gauge how things unfold between our interaction together. If I feel that she is being negative or hateful, I will not allow that type of treatment and I will cut off communication. I will pray for both these people to look into their hearts and stop acting in cruel and hateful ways.

It's nice to hear from you and I appreciate your sincere comments.
J

Welcome to the community!
Download the Partiko app below to start earning Partiko points which can be converted into Steem.
Start here - https://partiko.app/referral/jmehta

Posted using Partiko iOS

thanks for reaching out. I'm not sure if i can download because i don't want to get infected with any virus and trogon horse. I'm new to this and i rarely download anything, especially here because people are so techy and could probably do something to my system. Thanks though and all the beset.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70