My first ever blog

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

IMG_4429.JPG

Well hi everyone! I have been thinking of doing this for a long time - writing a blog that is - and finally here it is, on STEEMIT which I am very new to! This is really just a test run - I guess there's many of us joining in with this great new platform, a whole new world.

So I will start by introducing myself.

First of all I'm a mum of three. My kids are all spaced a long way apart, and all three have different dads! It's been an interesting experience and an interesting ride, and not at all how I planned my life to turn out. We never know what life holds in store for us despite our best laid plans or lack of.

My guiding motto is this:

'God, give me the courage to change the things I can, the serenity to accept the things I can't, and the wisdom to know the difference'.

Without this, I think I would have gone insane. Sometimes I wonder if I'm sane anyway! I always feel just a tad borderline! But I commend myself that I've never managed to end up in a psychiatric institution, not to imply anything bad about people who have.

So to move on from that, 18 years into motherhood I am finally feeling like I'm growing up, and getting a real sense of direction for my life. It's a wonderful feeling.

And as much as I love my children (as much as humanly possible) I feel like the stress and anxiety of having them, caring for them, loving them, almost renders the incredible joys of having children completely neutral if you get what I'm trying to say. It's certainly a massive learning curve whereby you learn to put others needs before your own, for example going without sleep when you are absolutely desperately in need but you have no choice but to keep on keeping on, pushing yourself beyond normal levels of sanity. It's a time in my life I am quite happy to leave behind... mind you I did have a very difficult sleeper with child number three, who sometimes woke up to 20 times per night and seems to need less overall sleep than what I do!!!

I do take my hat off to people who have chosen not to have children. One can undoubtedly have a very rewarding and satisfying life without them. There are so many ways in this world we can find meaning perhaps without the tortuous levels of sleep deprivation!!

So anyway I think this comes to the end of my basic introduction. I have not yet mastered how to use markdown but I'm posting anyway!! Hi everyone an looking forward to getting to know you all, in this new virtual world we are all exploring and getting to know!

In love and peace

A fledgling steemer!

Sort:  

Wow thank you ! Not at all sure how this works but cool!!😀

Hi,welcome to this amazing steemit..Please follow and vote me back.Thanks

Thanks lauriejane! Have done so!! Exciting stuff!!!😊

I can really relate to what you are talking about...and how some children can end up taking all the energy from you especially when you have had little sleep. But don't forget it's Family that keeps the world on track, and don't worry about overpopulating the world, my calculations tell me if we all changed how we lived, we could support not just the 7.5 billion of us but actually more than three times that number with sufficient Food, Water, Shelter, Clothes and Energy for all. By the way, I have just found this platform myself (a newbie) and so far it is great. I like the advice of one member I read recently - basically he said - write, have fun, communicate and then if you end up with a little extra cash, so much the better, but don't enter this virtual world expecting you will get rich next week :-)

My sentiments exactly hermitthewriter!!

Well, good luck to you! :D

Thank you lorcan!!😊

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Hi, I am new to Steemit too and a parent myself... Welcome to this amazing platform and I hope you do well :)

Thanks @whatalexdid! Have upvoted and followed you too!😊

Ah thank you so much :) Us parents need to stick together!

Haha totally!😊

A big warm Steemit welcome goes out to you Mumsworld :-D

Upvoted and High Pawed!
IMG_1439.JPG

Flatrider

Thank you @flatrider!! Lovely welcome! 😀

You're welcome and have a lovely day! :-D

IMG_0037.jpg

Flatrider

Welcome to steemit. You are welcome to look at my post.

Thanks! I'm following you now, this is all brand new to me! :)

Welcome! I'm also 18 years into this mothering business. I'm sure you'll get over the sleep deprivation memories. My eldest gave me lots of sleepless nights, now it's quite fun to have someone to chat with over a cup of coffee!

Congratulations @mumsworld! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88