Introduction

in #introduction8 years ago (edited)

Should it be so difficult to write an introduction? It is causing me a bit of stress and I will need to go to my studio and create, or jump into the lives of my latest book family from the confines of my couch, to recover. So let’s just start . . . 

My name is Kristi Casey and this is what I want people to know about me. I am an ARTIST...a DREAMER...a lover of BOOKS....a GARDENER! All of these are my escape from reality and anxiety and all the tough parts of the world. I discover things about myself once the hard parts of life appear and when I want to crawl into myself. I use art as a therapy and a means of expression. When I want to relax I go to my garden and dig in the dirt. When I want to escape my world I go into the world of a book. This is me at the core. 

There is so much I want to share with you about my art. Most of my work is done as a sort of sculptural mixed media. My love of books and the printed piece takes center stage in much of my work. There is one piece I would like to share that is very personal and helped me to get me through the suicide of a friend. Another was done for my daughter who was living across the country at the time and it showed her how much I missed her. Another was done during my “year of creativity” in which I made a quilt square each day depending on how I was feeling. It is like offering up a piece of my soul. I’m so fortunate that I have been able to touch something in another person through my art and I am now ready to share it with all of you. Art is a way of speaking to another in a different language. And like a language, there are different interpretations. That is the beauty. 

Sometimes I feel as though I have something to say and then the little voices say “why would anyone be interested in that?” The time has come for me to find out . . . 

Until another day, Kristi

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, Kristi :)

Really nice introduction, Kristi! Welcome to Steemit. You will LOVE it.

Hola Kristi

Congratulations @kristicasey! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @kristicasey! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64