Introduction to me: Hello all

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

My name is Jay and I live in Ottawa, Canada. I am here on Steemit to post stories I find interesting. I have a writing background, having trained in journalism so I am hoping to write some interesting stories for my new community. Hopefully they will be well received.

I have come to Steemit because of a conversation I had with my brother about cryptocurrency. Of course I had heard of Bitcoin but I had never fully understood how the digital currency functioned or the actual potential behind cryptocurrency and what it could mean for the future of commerce. So I figured what better way to get involved into the world of the digital coinage and introduce myself to a new community than to join the steem community.

Why I am here? I have decided to join this community to basically get my feet wet in the digital currency world and also to meet, share and exchange ideas about what we are all seeing in the world around us. I have worked in the communications sector most of my adult life and how this relates to the world of digital currency is fascinating.

For the types of things I like to write about. Well, I am interested in a host of topics but my main passions are photography, writing, and current issues. I am not much into politics but I believe a lot of the things I am interested are affected by it, so I will indirectly get sucked into the political quagmire at times as well.

One of the writers I have always admired is Christopher Hitchens and probably my favorite book in the last ten years has been Among the Thugs by Bill Buford (Highly recommended)!
Among_the_Thugs.jpg

I am a podcast junkie, listening to all sorts on my car ride to work. Radiolab had a great podcast on the creation of Zcash. http://www.radiolab.org/

So thanks for reading this tiny first post and introduction to a little about me. I look forward to sharing and reading your thoughts on all kinds of subjects.

Cheers

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @jpreport I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Congratulations @jpreport! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good days and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :)

Thanks man. You have been followed.

Interesting read! This seems like a brand new account so welcome to steemit. Have an upvote and bring on the next one!
As a fresh steemian it can be hard to increase your steem power so you should try out @MinnowPowerUp where you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up through steemit! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have also made this post where I explain my experience with the service in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.

Congratulations @jpreport! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51