IntroductionsteemCreated with Sketch.

I may be posting this a bit late, but its better than not posting it at all…

Right, so this is my introduction of myself, and what I am about, or whatever...
My name is Jan Daniel Welter, I am 18 years old, am studying online via Cyberschool and am currently living in Pietermaritzburg South Africa, which is pretty much the equivalent of living in Sleepy Hollow.
Small town where nothing interesting really happens, apart from the occasional violent student riot. I work as a barman, which has its moments, but mostly just makes you want to ignore irritating customers,
or commit mass genocide, which ever one inspires you, which I'll admit is a bit of an over exaggeration but you know what I mean.

As far as hobbies go, I have very little, which I prefer, keeps things simple. I play guitar and have played in one or two small hardcore punk bands during the time when I was living in Palermo, but nothing overly impressive.
Living in Palermo was great, I had lots of friends and there was a huge heavy metal community, nothing has ever felt as real as our anarchy and debauchery filled nights out on the town, walking through the streets of Palermo together singing I Wanna Be Sedated.
Unfortunately due to problems with the Italian schooling system I had to come back to finish my schooling.
I first started playing guitar when I got into Punk Rock and Heavy Metal, bands like Sabbath, Slayer and Pantera, wanting to be like them, wanting to play like Jeff Hanneman from Slayer and legendary Pantera guitarist Dimebag Darrel,
who tragically was shot in the head on stage during a late night show on the 8th of December 2004. Music is everything to me, I live and breath heavy metal, I brush my teeth whilst listening to Iron Maiden and eat my cornflakes listening to Judas Priest, this may sound strange but it even helps me to relax and channel everything that angers me into the music
. Back then it was all I thought or cared about, and still do, to a certain degree. I read and write a lot, which in my opinion is sadly becoming more and more redundant due to all media and written word pretty much being done online,
Which I find dehumanises it in my opinion, with all types of sponsored news and bogus articles popping up all over the place. Yet you actually have to look hard to find real news... there’s something not right about that, but hey, I'm a cynic, what you expect me to think.
I also often play Dungeons and Dragons with my friends, that’s right, I'm a nerd, and a proud one at that.

My interests include music, film, writing and am developing a growing interest in journalism, which is probably due to my infatuation with Gonzo journalist Hunter, S.Thompson, writer of Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, The Great Shark Hunt, and many more.
As I said earlier, I am a huge heavy metal fan, since hearing Iron Man by Black Sabbath for the first time, I play guitar and am learning how to play base, unfortunately all I have at the moment is my old classical guitar, which I play with about as much grace as a gymnast walking the balance beam whilst having an epileptic fit. Another interest of mine is stand up comedy, I like the simplicity of it, I'm in no way saying that it’s easy, cause it definitely isn't.
It’s hard to be original when it feels like everything you come up with has already been done before. My comedic influences include but are not limited to Dave Chappell, Dylan Moran, Trevor Noah, Louie CK and Ricky Gervais.

I love classic movies, Tarantino movies in particular, for example, Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs, good old dialogue and extreme ultra violence.
One of my all time favourite movies is Apocalypse Now, based off of the Joseph Conrad novella Heart of Darkness which is actually set in the Congo with Belgian soldiers but was adapted to the Vietnam War for the movie.

When I have spare time I am usually playing music, cooking (I love food, eating it that is, I don't care for the whole cooking part), out with friends or simply relaxing, doing nothing other than watching television or playing video games, which is what you'll most likely find me doing, I'm generally quite a chilled person, despite my obvious cynicism.
I like to think of myself as the Dude from the Big Lebowski, mellow with very little on my mind besides what’s actually happening in the moment.
Jan Welter.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome! ☆☆☆☆☆😎

lol, you think im a stoner?

No dude. Just jackin' with you. Your pic kind of reminds me of Jeff Spicoli from Fast Times at Ridgemont High tho.

im not saying im not, but im dry and will be until i get paid, and also my teachers read this stuff..

It's all good. Better times are ahead. ☆☆☆☆☆😎

Welcome to Steemit! Maybe some day we'll get to hear you play your guitar! I gave up on my self taught journey of the guitar pretty quickly... when chords came into play. And I had to cut my nails...
The flute is just easier! Though also less interesting.

thanks for the warm welcome. i look forward to reading your posts :)

Hi Jan, welcome to Steemit!

As a musician you may wanna have a look into the popular openmic contest here on Steemit :

https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/openmic-night-record-your-musical-performance-using-just-a-phone-and-win-steem-dollars

Could be something fun for you to get started.

Cheers,
Shaka

Welcome dude!

I have a classical guitar, you can get some menacing metalesque tones out of it by dropping that top string to a D!!

thanks man, i did that ages ago but the string snapped, they're to old, am currently playing the bass

Your teacher is not close minded at all...very open minded in fact. So write whatever you want... stoner or not...lol!

epic, although i have admitted to nothing haha...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82