I'm New Here: Happy to be a Steemitan!

in #introduction7 years ago

Hi there. Thought it would be nice to write an introduction post and get started on what I hope to be a prolific steeming career.
My name is Hannah and I'm an American/Manx mongrel living in Bali with my Balinese husband and two gorgeous kiddos.
hannah3.jpg

I've done a bit in my life, travel, art school, working for magazines and newspapers, but now I work from home or whichever cafe has the fastest internet and the strongest coffee. I run a couple of websites here in Bali and also do a lot of freelance writing for travel guides, tour companies, hotels etc.

So, how did I end up where I am today? Well, I was working in New York for a magazine and really burning the candle at both ends, so decided to volunteer as an art teacher in Bali, Indonesia. At that point I kind of figured it was either push myself into the (very competitive) world of art direction or get the fuck out and see some more of the world. It was a tough decision but I knew winter wasn't really for me so I headed to the tropics.

Bali wasn't what I expected at all but I totally fell in love with it and was amazed by the incredible sense of community, the friendly people and the culture and religion that shapes every single thing they do. I took my TEFL course so I could stay longer and teach English and without any warning at all I met the man I have now been married to for over 10 years.

I never expected to get married at 25 (I was a determined, independent woman who didn't need a man) but I fell head-over-heels for my husband who is a stone carver from a village near Ubud, Bali. Within 3 months we were married and I've been living my Balinese life ever since. Everyone though we were completely mad, but we have managed to prove everyone who said it wouldn't last wrong.
IMG_2279.jpg

I'll write lots more about my life here in Bali, but this is a start. I'm really excited to spill out all my thoughts, tips on traveling, being a working mother, being creative and all the weird and wonderful things that happen to me on a daily basis.

storyofworldpic.jpg

Sort:  

@hbwijana, great intro post.

My family and I lived in Indonesia for 12 years. It holds a special place in our heart.

We had many opportunities to visit your beautiful home (Bali).

Look forward to learning more about your life. following

Thanks so much @sumatranate! It is a wonderful place to live and gives me plenty of writing material ;)

Welcome to steemit community @hbwijana! Great introduction, I have upvoted you!

Welcome to Steemit!


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Hi, sure I agree.

Cool! I saw your fresh account so welcome to the steemit platform. Hope this upvote helps and I hope you will some day do the same!
As you are new to steemit and it can be hard for newcomers to boost their steem power so you could give @MinnowPowerUp a go. This service lets you earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have also made this post where I explain my experience with the service in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.

A new Steemian :-) hello @hbwijana I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Welcome @hbwijana aboard the steemit express. This is a great platform to express yourself just like any other social media outlet except this one pays its users for interacting with each other. Post good content and your rewards can be limitless but always stay true to yourself.

Checkout this post and give me some feedback on it
CIRCLE OF FRIENDS

@circleoffriends
#circleoffriends
#minnowsupport
#cof

Hi Hannah welcome to steemit community, great introduction..upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60133.79
ETH 2686.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49