The Conscious Resistance Joins Steemit To Give Back

in #introduction8 years ago (edited)

Hello! My name is Derrick Broze. I am a free human, freelance journalist, promoter, radio show host, activist, and author based out of Houston, Texas. After several recommendations that I join Steemit - and seeing many of my online friends make reasonable money - I have decided to dive in. Before I tell you WHY I AM JOINING STEEMIT, let me tell you a bit more about my work and what you can expect to find on my account. 

First off, I am going to give you the short version of this story. If you want more details you can read chapter 8 of my first book, or watch this interview with fellow Steemer @lukewearechange. Here goes...

In November 2005, I was arrested for possession of crystal methamphetamine. This arrest came one week before my 21st birthday and was the conclusion of a 2 year period of heavy drug use that consisted of shoving as much cocaine, ecstasy, LSD, xanax, and meth as possible into every orifice in my body. Obviously, this does not make for a very self-aware or conscious being, but give me a break, I was dealing with years of unprocessed emotional trauma that initially surfaced as prolonged bouts of depression and suicide attempts. When I was on drugs or drunk out of my mind I felt good, for the first time in a long time. 

Unfortunately, the State did not appreciate my drug binge therapy and decided I needed to spend time in prison and drug treatment centers. So began a 4 year battle with myself and the State that included 18 months behind bars, numerous outpatient treatment meetings, random drug tests, a DWI, probation and then parole. Finally, in October 2008 I was released for the final time and in June 2009 my parole officially ended. Since that time my only interactions with jail or the State have been in relation to my activism. Which, by the way, is a cause for which I am more than happy to spend time behind bars. 

While I was locked up I began researching meditation, specifically Buddhism, and even more specifically Zen and Zazen. This began a journey that has taken me from being a shallow, insecure asshole to a person that I have learned to love and embrace. Meditation and self-reflection were the first steps in my larger awakening process that includes a new understanding of politics, philosophy, and spirituality. As I started to look at the world with fresh eyes I realized there were many wrongs that I wanted to address on a local level. This led me to create The Houston Free Thinkers activist alliance in the Summer of 2010. Over the last six years, the HFT have become a powerful force in Houston activism and around the country. 

Although I was, and continue to be, proud of the work of HFT, I also felt a yearning within, a voice calling me to bring together my spiritual self and my politically-aware activist self. To this end, I created The Conscious Resistance. The Conscious Resistance was originally a blog for me to promote my own views, separate from HFT, but has since evolved to a team of bloggers and vloggers who contribute essays, interviews, news reports, music, and so much more. It is the platform I have been searching for and I believe it is a part of the larger conscious evolution that is taking humanity away from tyranny and statism and towards freedom and eventually Anarchism. 

 

The Conscious Resistance is also the name of a trilogy of books that I have co-authored with writer and activist John Vibes. The books explore this conscious evolution and the intersections of Anarchism and Spirituality. Book 1 was released in 2015, while book 2 was released in April 2016. You can expect the last chapter to be released in Spring 2017.  

Over the last six years I have also made a name for myself as an independent freelance journalist. I have written for many well known outlets and journalists including The Anti Media, Ben Swann's Truth In Media, Occupy.com, Mint Press News, and most recently, Activist Post. My articles have been shared easily over a million times, while my video confrontations of George W. Bush, Henry Kissinger, and many more corrupt authority figures have also been featured all over the internet. Locally, I have exposed the Houston Police Department's use of Stingray cellphone surveillance, and confronted the chief of police and former Mayor.

Now, if you made it this far you may be wondering what all of this has to do with Steemit. As I mentioned, I have a number of well known activists and friends who are already on this platform and have encouraged me to join. I have seen the high monetary rewards and appreciate the technology behind Steemit. I believe it is absolutely a part of the move towards decentralization and more freedom. However, I am currently not in need. All of my bills are paid, I have food in my fridge, my cats are fed, I have toilet paper, I have cannabis, and my bike tires have air. (What can I say? I am a simple guy with simple needs.) Sure, I could use some more cash to put away for a rainy day and to build the intentional community I am planning, but overall I am content. 

I am paid by Activist Post for my weekly articles and I receive a couple hundred extra dollars via my Patreon account. Extra money from Steemit would be nice, but do I really need it? No. So here's the deal:

For every cent I earn via Steemit I will give HALF towards a worthy cause. What's a worthy cause? Maybe it's a charity in my community. Maybe it's a friend who can't pay their rent. Maybe it's a crowdfunding campaign that needs a little push. The cool thing is you get to help me decide! That's right. Upvote my works and half of what I make will go to a good cause that you, the Steemit community, will be able to help choose! 

So, that's it. I am Derrick Broze. I am a free human here to have conversation and learn. I want to change the world by being the change I seek. Stay tuned to my page for essays, articles, and videos that explore current events, spirituality, Anarchism, philosophy, and whatever else is on my mind. 

Thanks for listening. 

Remember, You Are Powerful. You Are Beautiful. You Are Free.

P.S. - Thanks to @sterlinluxan for encouraging me to join and for being a bright light in the darkness 

Sort:  

Derrick, you have an amazing story and compassionate heart. I believe you will do well here. And thanks so much for the kind words at the end of your article.

Agreed, welcome brother man. Hoping to read many of your articles ahead. I have left Facebook for here and find my life much more pleasant de to it.

Welcome @dbroze. Always glad to connect, wherever it may be. Welcome to steemit!

Thanks for reading and for the welcome!

Nice to see you finally said hi. I've enjoyed your work for a while now. Feel free to check out the few posts I've done so far.

I actually made a similar promise/pledge for my Steemit account. I'll be using half of my revenues for my business start-up and all of its associated community enrichment programs for farming communities in Latin America. Follow me and check out my post about it. And welcome to Steemit!

It is great to see the different stories that lead someone to this point in life. Welcome @dbroze. I look forward to seeing the good you do with the proceeds. :)

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@jeffreyahann/hello-my-name-is-jeffrey-hann-and-i-am-an-anarchist

Every success story is not without a rock-bottom one, makes me feel better about my personal situation at any rate... Welcome and thank you for contributing to the world <3

Thank you for reading!

I have had the chance to interact with D. Broze at various events. Donated to his and HFT response to OK tornado. Him and others of HFT shows desire and actions to better this world. Support, love and persistence, brother.

Excellent stuff, as always!

Welcome, Derrick! Up-voted.

I applaud you for getting through those years of your life. As a former psych nurse who worked with addicts of all kinds I know how difficult it it for people to escape that circle of addiction. Honestly I think I could count the successes on one hand in 5 years.

The system is broken and as you found out you had to find your own path to freedom. Congratulations and good luck here on Steemit. #HighFive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95