My Anarchist Garden Diary

in #introduction8 years ago (edited)

Help me reclaim our birthright so that we may create self-sustaining bounty for our communities and families. Until the second world war, many Americans could use their labor and land to achieve subsistence and sometimes wealth through small scale agriculture and animal husbandry. Today most people have been deprived of the inheritance of their grandparents: seed saving and starting, soil improvement, crop rotation and selection, and preserving the bounty. I want to bring this universal inheritance to the steemit blockchain through the only means I can: sharing my story and practices.

I am a father to a young family. We depend on our garden and fruit orchard for a majority of the food we eat.  I believe in radical freedom for ourselves and communities. My garden philosophy is:

(1) Organic cultivation in small plots

(2) Frugality: using the fewest inputs (labor, soil amendments, gizmos) to obtain the maximum nutrition. I get most of my garden inputs from reusing, scrounging, and donations from others in my community.

(3) Self-sufficiency: I regard my land as a dynamic ecosystem to cultivate and nurture, not a mere substrate to which you add nutrients. I choose crops based on experimentation and selection for what works for me.

I intend to document my practices in an open diary so that others may learn from my successes and failures. I hope to collaborate with others to improve my practices and so we can learn our way forward together into a free and peaceful future. My first story will be about seed starting for an early spring garden.

Peace, Love, and Goodwill 

Sort:  

Hello @charlesward,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.81 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Welcome to Steemit, Charles! It looks like you know how to grow cherry tomatoes, for sure! My gardening approach seems pretty similar to yours.

Where are your gardening? I'm in the US Pacific Northwest -- in Oregon's Willamette Valley. There's an interesting group of gardeners, from all over the world, here on Steemit. I try to curate and collect the interesting gardening posts over on the @gardening-trail. I think you will find a lot of nice gardeners over there.

I look forward to your gardening posts! Happy growing!

Hi and thanks. I wish everything grew as well as cherry tomatoes here in the Southeast, zone 6b. I get burned out picking them halfway through the summer but everyone loves them. You do great work, following.

Thanks for following! I dry a lot of my cherry tomatoes. They are great for soup in the winter. I cut them in half first, otherwise I don't think they would ever dry out, lol. I'm with you, though, on getting tired of picking them sometimes. Especially if I didn't stake them up really well!

Welcome to steemit @charlesward! Good luck to you

Welcome and excellent. I will follow your diary and learn from it. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.69
ETH 2375.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31