My Introduction as Captain Barbosa

Who is Captain Barbosa?

Captain Barbosa is actually my grandfather. He was a Captain of the tug boats in Halifax, N.S. Canada and his last name was Barbosa. However, he was born and raised in Sao Jacinto, Aveiro, Portugal. It is a common tradition in my family for the child to take on the mothers maiden name as a middle name. My mothers maiden name is Barbosa therefore, my middle name is Barbosa!

halifax.jpg
(I live in Dartmouth N.S. Canada and this is an ariel view of my beautiful city)

Growing up while Pirates of the Caribbean was in theatres I got a lot of comments about my middle name. When I was younger I was always embarrassed when people used to call me Captain Barbosa. Now, I embrace it!
BARBOSA.jpg

As for me, I am a new graduate nurse and I feel as if my second home is the hospital. I love what I do and have decided to further my education and go back to school. Working full time hours and going to school makes me pretty busy and I have to try and schedule my time so I can still do activities and hobbies that I enjoy.

victoria.jpg

One of those hobbies is coaching a girls basketball team. This is now my tenth season coaching basketball and it is one of my favourite hobbies. I love giving back to my community and watching these young girls grow up and learn is such a tremendous feeling of accomplishment as I have helped shape them into who they are today!basketball.jpg

-Captain Barbosa

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @captain-barbosa ! I'm sure you'll have a wonderful time here.

@OriginalWorks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @captain-barbosa to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This is why I come to steemit every day! It came to my attention that you have a new account so welcome to the steemit platform. I just upvoted you for this as you deserved it and bring on the next one!
As a fresh steemian it can be hard to increase your steem power so I suggest you to try out @MinnowPowerUp as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up with steem directly! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I also recently made this post explaining my experience with it in more depth while earning over $1 per day in upvotes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55262.33
ETH 2465.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18