Introducing Myself

in #introduction8 years ago

Hi there. I'm new here. I've always been a bit of a Luddite, but I like to try new things and this seems like it might be the way of the future, so I'm here to check things out and go along for the ride.

I've been a few things in my life up until now--a factory worker, a carpenter's assistant, a cook, a baker, a pastry chef, a student, and a traveler. Currently, I'm an English teacher living and working in Japan. I've always been interested in writing but I have never found a platform that has worked for me.

Many self-help articles advise people to write about what they are passionate about and to do what they love. I've also heard the following sentiment voiced many times: If you don't know what your passion is, look at what you spend the most time in your life doing and that is your passion. By that standard, working and parenting are my passions. While it's a little hard for me to accept this because I have other interests that excite me and would make for cooler sounding passions, when I think about it, I find that there is some real truth to the idea that working and parenting really are my passions. So that's what I am here to talk about, my experiences in life regarding these two realms, and maybe more. So, see you in the Steem.

Sort:  

At the moment I'm spending a lot of time on Steemit, so this must be my passion at the moment.
Welcome, I would love to go to Japan one day, and is on my bucket-list.

Japan is a very beautiful country with a lot of great places and things to see. If you like cycling at all, I really recommend cycling through, around, or across Japan.

Welcome! My passion is definitely not working (though I like my job) I think we all have mini passions, that change as life goes on. :) Nice introduction post.

Thanks onetree. I'm not really sure what the difference between a passion is, and being passionate toward/about something. Saying work is my passion might be a little misleading, but I like a lot of aspects of the work that I do and I'm passionate about doing it the best I can. My work doesn't make me buzz and tingle all over like mountain climbing and camping does, but I can do it every day and it continues to intrigue me. Is it a real passion, or is it just something I can be passionate about because I have enough autonomy to focus on the aspects of it that interest me? I don't know. Anyway. Please check back in with me as I continue to add content.

Glad you came to steemit! Thank you for sharing!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58666.46
ETH 2281.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46