Welcome To Me - An Introduction Post

A warm welcome from Sunny South Africa.

I find myself writing constantly, yet when it comes to introductions or biographies, the words dwindle... (I have a set piece I attach with most submissions) So rather, here is a thing I made:

this sad boi.jpg

After graduating film school, I decided to dedicate the rest of my twenties to extensive traveling and making art. After a truly bizarre yet magical three months in India, the second week back home I managed to paraglide into a house, breaking both heels/feet and L1 compression fracture in my back. I suddenly found myself with immense amounts of time to create. Writing was excruciating at first. I could barely do twenty minute stretches in front of the computer. I found myself writing a lot of poetry (even more than before) and think it is due time to share it with others. So mainly I will be posting illustrated poems, short fiction and the like. I have also been making short poem films on youtube, links to which will most definitely appear in the very near future.

I enjoy visual story telling in general (hence the film studies) and have been exploring photography combined with text. I also draw and illustrate a bit, with immense amounts of self portraits. Exhibit B:

mof kop-01.jpg

Other than that, I am a passionate consumer of ice cream and cigarettes, quite enjoy the idea of Shia LaBeouf, and might, potentially, have a slight Jesus complex. (Also, my use of commas is either extremely elaborate or most likely missing) When I am not creating things I find beautiful I can be found lying on the floor somewhere.

I look forward to sharing my work with your engaging minds, and am already enjoying yours. A last self portrait, since it seems to be the theme here:

Untitled-1-01.jpg

The poem is in Afrikaans, my home language. (Fun fact, it is the youngest academic language in the world)

A rough translation:

There is nothing left here for you
The ocean is calling
The waves over your head
It's sand and wanderings
Ice cream and people watching
Late night six-pack hooked on finger
Cigarette in mouth
Feeling larger than you are
Look
The words are flowing
Let them fly
I am on my way
Just broken
On the side of the road
A pair of dark hands
Then I'm ready
A jungle in the mirror
Things from my hand
Tossed, let go
The ocean will decide.

Keep making beautiful things people.

Sort:  

Congratulations @anotherbadger! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

HI
Dis lekker om Suid-Afrikaners hier op steemit te sien...
Skryf sommer in Afrikaans dan deel jy dit op facebook en so dan lok jy nog mense na die fantastiese platform/netwerk op steemit...

Hier is nog 'n Afrikaanse artikel...

https://steemit.com/afrikaans/@becky.rac/skoon-afrikaanse-humor

Hoop jy geniet dit.

Sterkte met die beseerings. Jy is seker al beter?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63091.92
ETH 2469.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67