Introduce Yourself: The Boat Bitcoin Built

Hi Steem Community!

My name is Mark Hardy and I'm a sailor. I've held cryptocurrency since early 2016.

20992597_10101043594844722_5917729029265481243_n.jpg

My family has sailed for generations. I, like most members of my family, learned how to sail as a child - then completely stopped sailing from the age of 12 til 27.

A chance encounter in 2014 led to my meeting a man who owns a sailboat which my Grandfather and family built in St. Louis, MO in the 1960s. During the boat's lifetime she left St. Louis, sailed to Hawaii, and ended up in Portland, OR.

This new owner, "The Skipper," bought her in Portland in 2012, refit my family's former vessel and sailed her solo from Seattle to New Orleans via the Panama Canal.

When I met The Skipper, he was living in Seattle on a smaller sailboat. He taught (or re-taught, in my case) my friends and I how to sail, then moved, gifting us the boat.

Through various adventures I've grown my own sailing skills, most recently sailing from Honolulu to Los Angeles.

The Boat Bitcoin Built

In September of 2016, I purchased a J/35, a legendary model of ocean racing sailboat, with the goal of refitting her for ocean voyaging on the cheap. In March of 2017, I realized that more work (and refit budget) was needed - so I put my entire refit budget into cryptocurrency. It has done exceptionally well.

A string of coincidences brought me to a one-of-a-kind refit location in Port Townsend, Washington, wooden boat capital of the United States, where I am now putting the final touches on my vessel, the ZONE, in preparation to sail the high seas on my own terms.

This is not your average boat blog. I came from a humble background in one of the most turbulent cities in the United States, St. Louis, MO. Cryptocurrency has far exceeded my wildest expectations, enabling me to pursue a dream which would otherwise be financially unviable. I am learning DIY skills from some of the best in the boating world as I restore my boat to her former glory, and gain an intimacy with my ship which few sailors know.

I hope you will follow my adventures on the ZONE as I show how:

  • Through cryptocurrency, those with little can improve their station in order to follow their wildest dreams
  • It is never too late to follow the call of the sea, or whatever call you hear

From the Zone,

Mark

Sort:  

Welcome on board, sir!

Welcome to Steem Community @zone-navigator! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Look who's here ^^ Zone-navigator, In case this has been your first Introdusemyself Post i'm here to welcome you to Steemit. I hope you have a lot of fun here and you may follow me. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

have a great time in steemit

Hey Mark! Welcome to Steemit :)

Hello and Welcome to the Steemit family. i'll be looking forward to your posts. lets support each other follow me back @manofmiracles

Respect! I can see that this is a recent account so I wanted to give you my welcome. Here's an upvote from me and know that the steemit community awaits!
As you are new to steemit, getting those big upvotes are gonna be hard so I suggest you to try out @MinnowPowerUp as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up with steem directly! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I also recently made this post explaining my experience with it in more depth while earning over $1 per day in upvotes.

A new Steemian :-) hello @zone-navigator I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Congratulations @zone-navigator! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53406.15
ETH 2223.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29