An Introduction to Zigzagoon Balloon

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Introduction to my Introduction

Hello Steemers (if that’s what you call yourselves). I go by the name Zigzagoon Balloon. I understand that it is customary on Steemit to make a post introducing yourself so here I am. You know my name and soon, you will know a little bit of my story too.

(Quite fond of this profile picture even though it's rough around the edges)

Why I’m here

Cryptocurrencies. It’s the reason why most people are here, isn’t it? I knew about Bitcoin a few years ago but never put the time or effort into buying, as is the case with many I believe. About a year ago I started donating my spare computer processing power to science through BOINC, an open system for the distribution of cloud computing. I was searching for aliens, looking for pulsars, folding proteins and helping run the Large Hadron Collider. I found this usage of my computer super cool. And then I discovered Gridcoin. 

Gridcoin

Gridcoin rewards cryptocurrency for doing BOINC work. I could be rewarded for the work I was already doing! Having discovered Gridcoin I had entered the world of cryptocurrencies. I decided I wanted to contribute to Gridcoin and its community as I loved the idea but lacking many relevant skills, besides knowledge from a basic design course, the main thing I could do was discuss and give feedback on the design and branding of Gridcoin. Luckily enough I joined in a period where Gridcoin was undergoing a major brand redesign (see these posts: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3) and I could try to make myself useful. I would love to help program but sadly my programming knowledge is limited to basic Python and Java and is nowhere close to understanding a cryptocurrency. Very recently Gridcoin minted its 1 millionth block. An impressive feat and a nice milestone. Although I had dreams to mine said block, it was sadly not to be. Anyway, most posts on the Gridcoin subreddit end up being links to Steemit posts and that’s how I discovered Steemit.

Thoughts on Steemit

The idea of Steemit is great. Make it easy and simple to support content creators who make things you love. That being said it definitely isn’t perfect. The aesthetic is quite nice and simple but finding the content I want isn’t effortless seeing as the search function is just a google search. The servers don't always seem to keep up also which can be frustrating. The community seems very friendly, open-minded and willing to discuss topics which is great and exactly what I desire in a community.

My Plans for Steemit

I’d like to make thoughtful posts about video game balance and other current gaming topics as well as just general post when something is on my mind (I’ll stay far away from politics, don’t worry). On the internet, opinions are usually very quickly ridiculed but Steemit seems to be slightly more immune to this effect than other websites (I’m looking at you Reddit) so I’d like to share my opinions with you :). I mainly play online competitive games such as CS:GO, HotS and Dirty Bomb but there aren’t many genres I don’t enjoy! I guess you could say it will be pretty much a personal blog though I’d like to think I’ll keep it interesting.


Conclusion

Well, you made it through this post so I guess it didn’t bore you too much (unless you skipped to the end). Thanks for reading! Thoughts/comments/feedback are always welcome.

Sort:  

Always glad to see a fellow Gridcoin enthusiast join the platform.
Welcome aboard @zigzaggoonbaloon

Welcome @zigzagoonballoon! Great to see you on here too - look forward to your gaming and Gridcoin related posts :)

H @zigzagoonballoon welcome to steemit, am sure that you will be a big success here. Feel free to see my posts on steemit and follow me for tips to succeed here on steemit. Steemit is a platform that rewards hard work, authenticity and great contents. Wish you success.

Welcome to Steem @zigzagoonballoon I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit, @zigzagoonballoon!
Lots of high-quality Gridcoin content gets posted here, glad to see you decided to contribute too. For Gridcoin-related posts, you can also use #beyondbitcoin tag, to increase the number of views and to reach a wider crypto-audience. Count on the community's support.

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good day and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :) and upvote all my post and i do the same.
upvote and comment on my new post.
https://steemit.com/intoduceyouself/@xamir15/reasons-why-people-changes

Welcome to Steemit! If you have questions - ask me @dobroman

Congratulations @zigzagoonballoon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit @zigzagoonballoon, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Hi @zigzagoonballoon, welcome aboard this ship :) we are always looking forward for interesting new thoughts and posts :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60937.94
ETH 3381.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48