Executive Officer – Digitalization projects and a manager’s perspective

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hello everyone,

This post is for introducing myself and what I am going to write about and why it might be interesting for you as a reader to follow. The reason this might be interesting for you is because I’m an executive officer for a public university in Norway called Universitetet I Agder (UiA). I’m one of those in charge of digitalizing the university, which is very complex and interesting.

The topic I am going to write about is the projects I’m in charge of with an IT perspective and from the position of an executive officer. I would like to have more of a discussion-based approach to the chosen topics (both technical and non-technical), this is because the projects are often very large and complex and can be solved in a hundred different ways. The way I chose to solve them is not always the best, and this is where you as a reader can contribute greatly. In these cases, I would like to create discussions on these topics and reflections on the approaches chosen. This will obviously require some readers, but I hope that we can get that with time.

Before we get that far I would like to introduce myself properly and the place I work. My name is Kevin B. Z. Adriaansen and I have been working as an executive officer for almost 2 years. I have a bachelor in IT and Information systems, and a master’s in information systems.

The University in Agder is one of the leading universities in Norway. It has about 12 000 students and 1300 employees, based over campus Kristiansand and Grimstad, both I south Norway. As I mentioned UiA is a public university and this will have to be considered when discussing for the different topics and will probably be the topic of discussion as well. My next post will be more concrete on the projects I’m running, so we can have discussion(s) around the real cases.

On to the discussion for this post: I’m only 23 years old, giving me both an edge and a disadvantage compared to the other project managers and leaders which is much older than me. An edge in the sense that I’m “fresh and updated/modern” and have a different approach compared to the others (for example plan-based vs agile methodology). At the same time, I have a disadvantage in the sense that the others have much more experience than me. What do you think about the “gamble” the leadership at the university took in employing a very young person to a higher manager position? Would you have employed an unexperienced young person into a leader position? Can the disadvantage in experience be compensated in some way?

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @zeppo95. You will love it :)

A few suggestions:

  1. Comment a lot. This is the best way to get new followers and be noticed
  2. Don't be disappointed if your blog posts are lost in the ocean. This is totally normal. The more followers you have, the more attention and money you will get over time

PS: I've followed you and upvoted this post with $0.06. If you like, you can do the same so we can support each other :)

Hello @zeppo95. It's nice to see you here!

@zeppo95, let me be the first to welcome you to Steemit! Congratulations on making your first post! I gave you a $.02 vote! Would you be so kind as to follow me back in return?


Welcome to Steemit @zeppo95!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Congratulations @zeppo95! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60696.93
ETH 2638.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61