Hey Steemit! (A Ridiculously Narcissistic Introduction)

Hey everyone!

My name is Will. It's a pleasure to be here on Steemit, and I'm looking forward to meeting a lot of you and having a blast!

Now, I am brand new. (Duh.)

I actually JUST learned about the Steemit platform, and I know basically zilch about blockchains, cryptocurrencies, and technology in general.

I am, shall we say, behind the times. To put it mildly, I guess.

Never fear! I make up for my lack of tech-knowledge with other areas of geekiness, and can fit well into the high societies of Nerdom.

For example, I like some anime that was dumbed down for kids. "Battle of the Planets," anyone?

Image of Battle of the Planets

If you got the reference without Googling it … well. I'm impressed.

Leave me a comment and let me know if the show is younger or older than you are. (It's older than me.)

Ehem. Let's not talk about how old I am though. Shall we?

On a more controversial note, on which I have absolutely chosen sides … I used to be a Star Wars fanatic until the franchise was sold to Disney (and I became an uber-hater of "The Last Jedi").

I hated the Last Jedi so much, in fact, that I think I'll share the most epic rant on this subject I have ever heard. Watch it below, and then move on to more about ME.

AWESOME! RIGHT?

Okay, moving on … I guess you could just write me down as a science fiction fan in general.

In my dreams, I have ditched this prison planet and I travel around with talking raccoons and Star Lord. Oh, and I have a green girlfriend too. 😊

In real life, I'm a marketing consultant, author, and sometime filmmaker. I have three amazing daughters, my middle, sandwich; child is here with me in the photo below.

Image of my kid

Anyway, my girls are practically my reason for being … and the reason I haven't decided to just go ahead and upload my consciousness on a full time basis to the astral plane.

(Dang stupid silver cord ….)

As a writer, I'm interested in delivering thoughtful commentaries on current news (I'm active politically) … so you may love or hate me. Let me just say though that I'm not a screaming fanatic for either side of the aisle. Thus, it's possible that you may be ambiguous toward our budding relationship here.

Never fear though! I'll not ask you to marry me on the first date.;)

Outside of politics, I'm also into writing short stories, analyses of various UFO and alien conspiracy theories and reports, spiritual musings, and actually into business and marketing in-particular.

I'll likely be posting my first post sometime tonight or tomorrow, so I hope you'll come by and at least check it out.

If you don't, you won't know whether I'm talking about last night's half-eaten pastrami sandwich and the stomach ache I had after eating the first half … or whether my significant other got abducted while I was watching a god-awful 1990's sci-fi horror flick on that very subject.

This is my significant other:

Image of Lilach

What? She's not GREEN you say? Nope, but she is my little hottaaaaayyyyy .... ;)

It's ok, my fanboy leanings are limited to the imagination. And, unlike most geeks, I've got three kids to prove I've made love at least three times in my life. ;)

And, what, now, you ask ... could be more interesting than B-Grade films, alien abductions of one's family members, or last night's dinner? I ask you.

Oh sure … the confirmation of Justice Kavanaugh.

Okay.

You can throw stuff at me now. 😊

Sort:  

It's nice to have you here! I'm excited for your upcoming posts!

Thanks so much! :) Me too.

Welcome Will, older than me too, hahaha.

It's amazing how cool some older anime is. (Actually, I kind of remembered seeing reruns during the 80's, along with other shows like Voltron, etc. and I decided to go and find Battle of the Planets as an adult. It was fun. :) )

Wow! I always wanted to meet Fox Mulder from the X-files! It seems to have been successful. lol I hope you'll share your UFO analyses and other crazy paranormal stuff with us. You also charmed "Mantis" from Marvel's novel! I'm impressed. You make a beautiful, extraordinary couple.
If at the beginning of your blockchain adventure you want to learn more about the STEEM ecosystem, take a look at my profile. Now we are preparing the basics of MySTEEM Project and in the next step we will educate newbies about STEEM. Soon you will surely find useful information that will make it easier for you to get to know our platform. Stay in touch and look forward to your next articles. All the best!

Welcome to Steemit! I also didn't know tiddly twat about blockchains and crypto before I got here (other than the fact that Bitcoin was a thing that existed). I'm also a fan of older anime (older than I am anyway; I love me some Star Blazers), scifi stories, and good B-movies. I've heard people call Syfy made-for-tv movies B-movies, but that's nonsense. Real B-movies have class and don't rhyme with Snarknado.

Anyway, I hope you have a great time here! Coincidentally, I help run a writing community called The Writer's Block. We focus on helping authors improve their craft. If you're interested in taking a look around, come join our Discord: https://discord.gg/yfkWHhe

First off, Welcome to Steemit @writeboywrite!. Don't worry about no knowing anything about blockchain, crypto or even the platform. A lot of it is still very foreign to me even after 10 months. You're off to the best start. Being yourself is key the second is just getting out there and talking to people. Comment on EVERYTHING, engagement is key. It's a great community we have and very happy to have you hear. Can't wait to see your postings. If you ever have questions please feel free to ask.

Hi, when I read you it seems that I was watching Sheldon from big band theory, I did not stop laughing, even more with the comment that at least you made love 3 times in your life, with that you confirmed me, sure it is sheldon ya mayorcito hahaha .
It was great your presentation, we need to get away from reality and just laugh. I wish you much success in and out of this platform. Blessings for your family.
I'm using google translator

Welcome to steemit @writeboywrite. Don't worry, you will soon get used to steemit and the crypto space. Most of Us got here as crypto novices and we're still here trying to learn more about the crypto space. So I believe you would soon find your way in this amazing world of crypto.

Steemit grant unto everyone the opportunity to launch themselves into the world of crypto and you made a good choice for being here. Welcome to steemit and to the amazing world of crypto.

I can see you've started a post series, would be nice to see what else you have there. Any other ideas you already have in mind?

I've also just recently joined Steemit myself and I find the community to be really chill for the most part, however I guess you won't really be into the stuff I post about :) it's about gaming, but adding a touch of literature/philosophy there as well now

I'm not a bot, I'm actually human. I'm here to offer you this link:
https://steemd.com/@writeboywrite

You'll see two bars on the top left. Voting Power and Resource Credits. Try not to burn through that in one day because it will take a few days to recharge, like a battery.

New accounts with low Steem Power have the least amount of Resource Credits. You need Resource Credits to be able to vote and comment. One could buy STEEM and power it up so they have more resource credits, or you can post, earn, then power that up when you receive the rewards in seven days time. I gave you vote worth something like $1.70 to help get you started.

An example of Resource Credits wastefulness today would be if you said "thank you" to everyone who comments, and voted their comment. You'll be our of Resource Credits in no time if you do that. Please don't vote for this comment, because that's a waste. It's not a 'like' button. We only get about 10 full power votes to use in one day so use them wisely.

If you ever have any questions, feel free to stop by my mess of a blog and ask away. It doesn't matter if it's off topic, I don't care about that stuff anyway.

There are a lot of advertisements around. In most cases people want your money. What you do with your money is up to you. Try not to get ripped off.

Good luck to you.

Welcome to Steemit writeboywrite. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09