Hi. I am Mihaela, former corporate finance turned into a travel blogger and photographer...

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians

I am Mihaela and I am a travel blogger and photographer (currently :-) ) at www.worldtravelbug.com

I consider travel an investment in oneself, a zero risk investment that will always make you richer and that will develop you in ways that no book, study or documentary can. And through my very visual story telling, I hope I can inspire people to invest (more) in themselves and help with suggestions and advice along the way.

Almost at the peak of my career in finance (15 years of it), I decided to make a big change. Instead of taking the next step up, I stopped….and took a break…to travel.

After 11 years living in Belgium and working for big American corporations, I decided that it was time for me to go back to my home country, Romania. The decision was two folds, then second one being that I wanted to take a sabbatical period and travel long term. Then, at the end of 2014 all of this became reality. I moved back to Romania and in Jan 2015 I set off on my long term solo travel throughout Southeast Asia!

Upon my return and inspired by that trip, I decided to create my blog. So World Travel Bug went live on Aug 23, 2015.

About World Travel Bug

My two biggest passions are travel and photography! As a result of my extensive travels, I also love to share knowledge, give advice and help people design their own travels. And that is the reason why I created World Travel Bug (WTB), a blog about smart, cultural, luxury travel and travel photography. I wanted to share what I have experienced, seen, discovered and learned myself from travel and help people travel more and better.

WTB is mainly addressed to people who are looking for variety in their travels, people who want to experience the world from multiple perspectives. Sometimes that variety means that after a delicious and extremely cheap street food meal, you go and enjoy a perfectly chilled glass of champagne on some amazing rooftop, watching a stunning sunset.

Here at WTB you will find a combination of local, luxury as well as “touristy” as it is all part of travel in the end (I don’t know anybody that does not want to visit the Taj Mahal because it is too “touristy”, right? 😉 ).

About my style of travel

I have been lucky enough to travel a lot in my life, both for business and pleasure. This combination of travels gave me a more complex understanding about places, countries, cultures. I travel mainly by myself, but I always get the help of locals, as they are the best source of information. I am always trying to read about the local culture before I go somewhere which has always been very helpful.

I do not travel just to see things, I need to understand them, to understand other cultures, traditions, way of life.

oh and here is a bit more about myslef in a few pics:

Champagne is my fave drink (and I had it even for breakfast in Bagan, Myanmar after the hot air baloon flight)
IMG_0374.jpg

Japan is my favourite country
Japan.jpg

I love India and I lived there for a few months too
IMG_4263.jpg

I can drink beer too...when on the beach ;-)
[20150505_164122.jpg()

Photography is one of my biggest passions
IMG_0016.jpg

I am addicted to Japanese food
IMG_0786.jpg

...and to sunsets
IMG_8922 (2).jpg

Sort:  

Bun venit si la cat mai multe postari!

Hey multumesc. Sa ma lamuresc intai ce si cum :-)

Welcome

Welcome to Steemit! There are many people who have fantastic photographs (like yourself), so get out there and see what steemit has to offer. That being said, you will get much more out of steemit as a social platform and by engaging with other people's posts. Don't expect to get rich here, but if it happens because you post great material, then that's even better!

hello there! thank you for the welcome and for appreciating my photos. I am at the very beginning of the learning curve here so I have a lot to explore. :-)

Hey welcome to steemit! Your photos look very interesting indeed. I've followed you, so I expect a lot of great posts! I will definitely check out your blog too.

Hey thanks so much! I hope I won't disappoint then :-). Just need to get past this learning curve first :-)

Oh yeah, there is a lot to learn here. I think the biggest hurdle is the difference betwee SP, Steem Dollars, and Steem. And you might want to be careful of some scams around here, too. :)
https://steemit.com/steemit/@arcange/scam-alert-and-white-hat-counter-strike

And like mwoodall said, you might not be earning all that much in the beginning (I'm still earning cents per post), but eventually when you build up a following you'd be fine. And if the rest of your posts are of the same quality, you'd be in good shape in no time.

If you have any other questions, just hit me up. I am a banker, too :)

Congratulations @worldtravelbug! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Beautifully written, captivating pictures, awesome post! Welcome to Steemint @worldtravelbug. I have followed and upvoted your post

Do follow back and check out my posts if it's convenient.

Hello! thank you so much for your feedback!

wow. that's really nice you got great photos your travel , they are very relaxing to watch. followed , can't wait to see more of this.

Thank you so much! i hope I won't disappoint then :-)

Hey , How are you ?
welcome to steemit @worldtravelbug
following you now. :D
follow me back pls.

Welcome to Steemit, @worldtravelbug! Hope to read your posts and see your awesome snaps!

Hello and thank you! I hope you will enjoy them!

Congratulations @worldtravelbug! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32