Aloha Steemit and friends I have yet to meet.

My name is Judy, aka Witch Hazel (a N. American shrub with medicinal properties).
After 2 weeks waiting, I am anxious to participate in Steemit and share my love of creating outdoors spaces in which to reflect on life or simply just BE.

Backyard_Pond.jpg

Not wanting to be left behind with the goings on in the world, I have been studying crypto-currency and when a friend introduced me to Steemit, I resonated with it immediately. My passion is watching things grow. That is people as well as plants. I have owned and run many businesses, started many websites and worked in the healing field.

My interests are many but my main passion is gardening and Koi ponds. My husband and I hand built a log home in the Pacific Northwest, USA. It was a massive undertaking that spanned nearly five years while we lived off the grid in a 24 ft. trailer with a cat and two dogs.

After completion of our home there remained a large pile of boulders in the backyard.
Since a wrap- around deck prevented large equipment from accessing them, I decided to transform it into a waterfall. I hand dug a pond 16’X20’ and 3 feet deep. After a season of chasing off heron that preyed on my fish, I dug an adjacent pond, 5 ft. deep to save my Koi from the heron.

After that, yet another business was born. I began building ponds and waterfalls for other people. It was a new found passion that I still love. However, now I only maintain and work with my own two ponds and water features.

Copy of DSC03418.JPG

My approach to gardening is quite different from mainstream. I have PLANNED NOTHING. It is my nature to allow my inner guidance to direct what I plant and what I build and when to do so. I am guided to where a path is necessary, what foliage is appropriate where.

I am fortunate to live on 8+ wooded acres. Therefore, I have access to many forms of nature. The curved limbs from cedar trees were the foundation of arbors and benches. The natural stones and rocks helped to decorate and build ponds and streams. I achieve great pleasure standing in the middle of the pond building stacked rocks, or playing with stones in the streams and waterfalls to create differing sounds as the water is redirected.

My entire backyard oasis began with a pile of boulders, and grew in steps to accommodate 2 patios, another deck and several seating areas. As a result I can move with the sun or the shade to sit anywhere during a day. I continue to listen and build out as the mood strikes me. With 8 acres, I am only restricted by the amount of activity and work I choose to spend.

11222530_10205055956984228_8215522488825879726_n (1).jpg

Because not many people come to enjoy sitting in my oasis I hope to share many photos of my backyard with Steemians. I look forward to learning about gardening in other parts of the world and will share instructions on some of my projects. I look forward to sharing with the friends I have yet to meet and learning from all of you.

Here's to comments, upvotes and success to us all.

Judy

Sort:  

Hi Judy! Welcome to Steemit! You gonna like it here! :)

Thank you. I love your name.

Welcome to steemit That 2 week wait is worth it trust me!! I would leave a funny meme but i might get flagged. Follow me for more upvotes and funny videos! Im glad you are here!

Very Good Photo. Thanks For Share~

Welcome to join Enjoy Steemit

Thank you so much.


Welcome to Steemit @witchhazel!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to steemit @witchhazel. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

I will join @minnowsupport. Thanks

Welcome to steemit, if you have any questions you can ask me, try and make friends by reading and commenting on people's blog

Thank you so much. I'm still trying to figure out how to do just that.

You will find your way, it is very easy

welcome here and enjoy with steemit

Thank you. I am very excited. So far I am quite confused.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69167.71
ETH 3758.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67