Is shit posting allowed? A beginner has some questions?

1200px-David_-_The_Death_of_Socrates.jpg

Hey, guys, I'm mostly used to community-based social media platforms such as Reddit or 4chan and was wondering what kind of things are acceptable. Here are some questions:

Is there any sense of individual communities more isolated from the rest. For example, on 4chan I used either /fa/ for fashion and /biz/ for more crypto stuff. The people and culture are distinctive due to being isolated from each other. Should I be looking for the same thing in steemit or should I consider it more of a blogging platform? This leads me to my next question:

It seems like a lot of the people here are using their real identities and marketing themselves. Is that encouraged or is more similar to Reddit, which is pseudo-anonymous. Is it in between those two?

Are low effort self-posts, or posts which are focused on asking discussion questions allowed. For example, the question could be whether people liked a particular game over another. If there is little in the post beside the title is that allowed or looked down upon.

I'm not sure if I should sign my name or something because I'm simply unfamiliar with the social norms of steemit, if you guys could help me out that would be great!.

Also I read the faq, it told me to hashtag so #help?

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem...

Welcome to steemit wish you all the best and good luck. =)

Hi @wildbeast99t ! Great post, i like it, i just upvoted it ! PS: you may like to follow me ... @legsnheels

Hello and welcome to steemit. You will love it here. :)

I am also pretty new here, but I have seen quite a few relatively low effort posts. Like maybe a sentence or two with a photo. I don't think it is necessarily frowned upon and ultimately it seems like as long as it is still decent content people don't mind. I can't really answer your other questions with much confidence as I am still a little confused about a few things as well but I am sure there is someone that could fill you in more.

In addition, it also seems like verifying your identity in some way is appreciated by a lot of people but not required and whatever level of anonymity you want is fine.

welcome to the crypto-currency universe

There should be a feature coming out soon that will allow for community type platforms similar to /fa/ etc. Unsure when this will be implemented, but it should be "soon".

This platform is a good combo of anonymous and real personality - choose whatever works best fro you, some people like to follow a "person" it creates some layer of trust in my honest opinion.

Low effort posts that are genuine are better then low effort posts that are malicious. As long as you aren't manipulating/spamming most people will let it slide, medium-high effort is encouraged but at the end of the day the market will process the post how it will.

I'm not sure what you mean by signing your name, could you expand on that?

Also welcome to steemit :) wish you well while your here!

Congratulations @wildbeast99t! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @wildbeast99t! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.87
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49