Protect your head, a brief intro

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)


Hello, and thanks for checking out my intro. Let me just get right to it...


First, let me explain the picture. I know what you're all thinking, and the answer is NO. I am not a goat. That is a picture of Lina, one of my two goats. Don't worry, there'll be plenty of pictures of George coming your way. I just didn't have any uploaded right now...laziness, right? So, yeah... I am using a picture of my goat for now. 

Now that I have surely lost most of your attention, I'll get to myself. 

I am an enthusiastic crypto lover, and have been for a couple of years now. I have been had by a few scams, gotten lucky with a few coins, and am becoming a half-decent trader. I heard about Steemit recently while looking at a few newer coins with a couple of trading buddies, and have been enjoying the platform ever since.

I have been looking for an outlet lately, and have always loved writing, so I think that I'll be spending a fair amount of time here. I have not been able to really get in to any writing in a few years, life just gets like that sometimes, but I feel like I need to start again now...you guys are going to have to deal with that, so try not to hold it against me. Until last September, my life was on a pretty clear track... a few years away from having the car and house paid for, an ok paying job doing something that comes easy to me, great kids, great wife. Things took a weird turn though, when my wife started having spontaneous seizures...like epilepsy, but caused by a scar on her brain from too many concussions, mostly sports related.

 Before I forget, wear a fucking helmet. Just put it on, you will feel a lot dumber with your head split open than with a goofy looking hat, I promise. 

The first time this happened, about 12 years earlier, she was in the bath. I was on my way out the door, heard splashing, and decided to see what was going on. I did not expect to find her with her eyes rolled back blowing bloody bubbles from her mouth and nose, and slowly sinking lower into the tub... no, no, no, I did not expect that at all. Long story short, she went to the hospital, they figured out what caused the seizure, prescribed medication, and after a long rest all was well. This time, no such 'luck'. After trying 6 different medications, each coming with their own set of side-effects, we are still hoping that this one will be the one that works. It has been 11 months now, and those months have not been restful. Many days came with 3 - 15 seizures of varying strength, and each one of them is exhausting and dangerous. I have been by her side every step of the way, I won't risk not being there if something happens... not after finding her about to drown in the tub... we heat the house with wood, so imagine the possibilities if a seizure hits while she's filling the stove. 

I had to stop working in order to stay with her while we try to find the right meds, but I can no longer afford to stay at home...I'll be working again soon, and that scares the shit out of me. The seizures haven't stopped completely, though the latest medication seems to be doing the trick... so I have my fingers crossed. 

Anyway, now that I have time to think about the shit storm that has been building up in my head over the past year, I'll be able to spend time expressing my thoughts and ideas the way I've always done best, in words. 

That'll be it for now, but I will be posting more very soon. Thanks to all of you who read this far.

Jason

Sort:  

Great post!

What is the most interesting science?

Greetings!

Ciao! Ciao!

Steem ahead!

Congratulations @whateverusayman! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Learning without thought is labor lost; thought without learning is perilous.

Hey Jason! Nice to have you.

Thanks Luke! Glad to see a human reply :D

Congratulations @whateverusayman! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Cool! I follow you. +UP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59404.52
ETH 2610.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41