You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Could Have Been Anyone From Anywhere...

Welcome and kudos for coming out of your shell so to speak! I can relate, I'm very introverted usually, often referring to myself as a recluse because it's accurate and I love spiders haha.

I didn't realize the titles were song titles til the end, even though I like some of those songs/artists. Bright Eyes kept me feeling optimistic while I was in college, haha. Loved the albums Lifted and Digital Ash.

Ok here's a Q for ya since I grew up in a highly populated area and you mentioned you are from a small town, would you say the internet was particularly overwhelming when you were first introduced to it? For me, I feel like it was fascinating and I was quite open, until people I knew IRL were finding me and friend-requesting me on social media etc. Then my natural tendency to feel shy/withdrawn creeped back in. Kinda weird how that worked. Steemit sorta feels like a kickback to those early days when not many people had computers, nevermind internet. But I suspect Steemit will be much larger than Myspace/Twitter/FB etc. ever was, someday.

Sort:  

Thank you very much! Yeah I had kinda forgot about them until they used that song on The Walking Dead. Immediately fell in love with it.

Edit cause I was sleepy and not thinking clearly:
Originally I was just heading the sections to be a bit more obvious what it would entail, but I was listening to music and thought, "hey if I used some song titles that would probably tell people more about me than I could manage too!"

As far as Internet, personally I would have to say I never found it overwhelming, but I never had consistent access until I was eighteen and bought myself a laptop for college. My parents didn't even get decent Internet until my Senior year of high school, so unless I was at my friends I didn't get to do much. As far as social media goes I never cared for it on top of any lack of confidence I had, but ultimately bent into pressure from my family and friends. I just this year made a Twitter that I never use haha, and I'm on my 3rd FB profile having deleted my highschool one and my early college one. I definitely feel you on that I do get the same way quite a bit. I only allow like 10 people to see the majority of my Facebook post. There was an interesting article circulating for awhile, when I get off work I'll see if I can find the link, but it talks about how social media high jacks and manipulates our reward centers in our brain.

I do also hope it does, it definitely has the potential especially as the more mainstream services crack down on censorship and lean heavily into corporate sponsorship.

Thanks for the great ask! I look forward to speaking with you more! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65