Hello, Steemit, from some Sydney school teachers.

Hi, all.
This is my first post here on Steemit, so I'd like to briefly introduce myself.

I'm a passionate primary educator from Sydney, Australia, who has been teaching years K - 6 for just over 5 years. I work at culturally diverse primary school, in a relatively low socio-economic demographic area in south-western Sydney, roughly 50 kilometres from my home.

My wife, Bianca is also a passionate educator from Sydney, Australia, who has been teaching secondary English for close to 15 years. She works in a comparatively less culturally diverse, selective (students must pass a competitive entry exam in order to attend) secondary school, in a relatively high socio-economic demographic area in north-eastern Sydney, roughly 10 kilometres from our home.

Whilst we both work in vastly different contexts, one of the main things that gets us fired up an enthusiastic about our profession, and ultimately unites us, is our commitment to leading changes to pedagogy within the Australian schooling system. We are strong advocates for future-focussed, student-centred, Project Based Learning. Also, we both work within the public sector and believe that education is a social that should be available to all.

If you're reading this, it's likely that you may not really be into the Wordpress thing, but if you'd like to learn more about some of the things we've done previously, then you're welcome to hit up our Wordpress blogs.

leehewes.wordpress.com

biancahewes.wordpress.com

I’ll mostly be writing about education here, but may also post photos and reflections of our school holiday journeys around Australia and the world.

Hope you enjoy.

Lee.

@(* O *)@

IMG_0057.jpg

Sort:  

welcome! Glad to see you here. Hope you dont get as addicted as I am to steemit! ;-)

Thank you.
I figured I may as well make the move from Wordpress.
Steemit seems like a really nice community.
:-)

Welcome! I'm a teacher too, of sorts... I tutor, actually. I taught in a classroom for a while but I wasn't very good at classroom management and I would get very frustrated and anxious. I have so much respect for the people who stick it out; it's not an easy skill!

Thank you.
I appreciate your comment.
I love teaching and think that changing careers was the best decision I've ever made.
You're right, though. It's not for everyone.
:-)

welcome @waginski! Steemit is a great place, I'm sure you'll like it here. I'm @danielshortell from the sad, sad USA and I write fiction here on steemit. Missing Sydney a fair bit these days as it is ridiculously snowy here in central NY (I lived in Glebe then Redfern). Anyhow, welcome, will follow you to get the updates on what's happening down under. Stop by and say hello.

Hi Daniel.
Thanks for the comment and follow. I'll be sure to follow you back.
I live on the Northern Beaches of Sydney, but work out at Merrylands some 50 kilometres away.
It's worth it, though, because the school, students and community are awesome.
:-)

Oh OK, very cool. Never been to Merrylands...what a great freaking name though! My cousin lived in Syd for a while too, in the Avalon beach area. Actually named her first child Avalon. I miss Oz, it is measurably better than the USA.

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and awesome. Love kangaroos.

Hi Joey.
Haha, I'll try to post a photo up here for you next time I see a kangaroo.
=]

Great intro post @waginski! Thanks for joining Steemit! I am @gogogadgetupvote and I found your intro post thanks to a link that @magoo-1 sent me in my Daily "Introduceyourself Post" Bounty! I have upvoted and resteemed your intro, as well as given you a follow! Be sure to check out my contest post I linked, there are several useful articles linked at the bottom for new users!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43