You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reboot... My imperfect introduction in an imperfect world.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Nice post, which gives me also additional confidence. Maybe I should speak with my daughter German because this is my native language. But how I think mostly Spanish and English it's really weird for me to speak German, often I start to translate back to German for a moment. Plus my voice sounds completely different in every language. Also it looks like that my daughter doesn't like it really when I speak German - but this can be because I speak only in Germany or with Germans German. But today in the morning I was thinking about if it would not be better to speak in German to her. Not to make her speak German, but to speak more correct as in Spanish or English with her. Or to say it different, to not fuck up her English or Spanish. I still thinking about it....

Sort:  

I know that feeling of wiredness speaking German in a not German environment. When I met my wife in Germany we spoke German, but when we moved to Irland I switched to English after a while. Still remember, how she was upset about it, because for her suddenly I was another person.
Concerning speaking your native language with your daughter, it is still possible. Both you will have some special to share and she might later on be thankful that you kept the link to her heritage. Either way, good luck.

The claim of your wife is funny, also yesterday I was speaking German to my daughter and first she was smiling, when I told her maybe I should talk more German to her she got more serious. After maybe 10 minutes she got suddenly angry. My wife speaks native Spanish but also very well English and well German. So when I met her English and German was our secret languages where everybody spoke Spanish. While we was in Europe suddenly we spoke frequently Spanish and English. For as it's natural to change the language in our conversations, sometimes even in sentences if in the other language are words missing. I switch mostly on anarchism/voluntaryism and it stuff to English while I switch often on feelings and personal things to Spanish. While it happen for me subconscious like automatically, my wife changes more on controlled and on purpose.
Unfortunately I'm very busy at the moment, but I enjoy to talk with you and very interested what you are writing, so I'm already waiting for your post about this pliers and than when I find time I will read the older posts from you :) Have a nice weekend!

Posted using Partiko Android

I know steemit can eat you up if you don't take care about your time.
Languages are interesting stuff. You will find out what is the best in your family.
The explaination about the pliers (nipper) I gave in an English comment in my Esperanto post). It is a tool for cutting sugar cones! Great hand craft. Have a nice day Thor!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77