Hello Steemit! - @mericanhomestead Introduced Me!

My very first post!

@vonschlick

Image of me

I’ve been thinking about starting on social media for a while now, and recently one of my favorite homesteading people @mericanhomestead made a few posts about Steemit. It seemed like a good place to start, so I signed up.

Interests

My main interest is homesteading. However, due to several health problems I am also interested in health, diets, and the like. I also dabble a little in Science Fiction and Fantasy writing and my son is trying to get me into video games.

Homesteading

My wife and I decided several years ago that homesteading is one of our major goals. We started preparing by trying to get out of debt, improving our gardening skills, and watching hours and hours of videos from people who have already been successful. I am already retired because of my health and my wife retires in June of 2018. Our main focus right now is on getting our current home ready to sell so we can buy our land. We are going to start looking for property in Tennessee and go from there.

Health

I am also taking several steps to improve my health and diet. I am starting a water-only fast to lower my blood pressure, cholesterol, triglycerides, and other problems. I plan to start posting my progress each day as I complete it. Once that is finished my wife and I will start following the Dr. John McDougall starch diet found in his book, The Starch Solution. My wife has been a vegetarian since she was a teenager and a vegan for the past several years. When I first married her 25 years ago I became a vegetarian, but my diet consisted of a great deal of cheese and meat substitutes and I ended up gaining a lot of weight. Because of this, I decided that if I was going to be fat, I might as well go back to meat. I’ve learned a lot since then so I am starting fresh. I’ve already gone from a high of 180 pounds to 160 pounds just by limiting my soda, meat, and dairy intake.

Writing

As for the writing, I love reading Science Fiction and Fantasy. When I was practically bed ridden for a couple of years I started trying to write a little bit due to boredom and continue to do so every once in a while when I find the time. I might start posting a short story every once in a while as time permits.

I’m looking forward to sharing my journeys on homesteading, health, and writing to help others as well as to get some feedback and advice from others who have already accomplished what I am trying to do.

Thanks!

Sort:  

@vonschlick welcome to SteemIt! Up to you.

Welcome to steemit :D

Welcome to Steem @vonschlick I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you very much.

Hello @vonschlick. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Hi there Vonschlick ,
Welcome to Steemit ! I am @minnowhelp, nice to meet you !

I do check the values of some offers here and hope so to help new steemians. I just started this project !

In my session 1 of testing the value of an @booster upvote I tracked the gains of different users by using this offer - so - for example @mahdiyari got for an investment of $1.96 and Post Upvote worth $5.08 !

if you want to save money, follow me on my blog! :)

Hi, welcome to steemit.
I am @wajeeha12.
I have upvoted and followed you hope i will get some valuable posts from you.

Welcome to Steemit @vonschlick!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome to Steem @vonschlick I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Thanks! I'm slowly learning how this works. I guess I upvoted too many people recently as it says my upvote is worth $.00.

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51