Electric Avenue

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Electric Avenue Cover.jpg

Happy Homes - City of Industry 1977
I was a measurement between the years recorded on NYT:
"Between July 1973 and August 1977, the investigations appear, 29 individuals were shocked by hair dryers and electric brushes, 26 of them while in the bath. Numerous casualties were little youngsters."

I can even now remember washing up while my mother blew dry her hair and put on her make up. Intermittently we were in a race to get me to my childcare in time since she had been requested to work early that day, we would drive down the 605 FWY, I would normally be standing up in the back seat of our Volkswagen, while my mother was driving, express gratitude toward God we never needed to stop abruptly or I may have flown through the windshield, I can recall the aroma of the duck cultivate we passed regular, the scent was so solid and strong which remained with you all day long. Volkswagon_LR.jpg

One morning while I was bathing in the tub the telephone rang mother left me in the tub while she went to pick up the telephone. This was my chance to make her proud, I wanted to be somewhat prepared before she returned to the bathroom. I got up and went after the blow dryer sitting over the sink, hovering out of the bathtub I had no idea what I was about to do, while grabbing the blow dryer without a blink, was in a split second no time to think, tossed into the water and started to sink. BathtubBros.jpg

I was just 4 years of age at the time. I somehow envisioned my lifeless body, completely purple with blood from my cracked cranium from the tub. I don't recollect significantly from that point onward, simply awakening with brilliant lights and the nursing staff attempting to walk me around the doctor's facility, I was so week I couldn't talk or walk and I always felt like I was in a daze...
oneeyeopen_LR.jpg

My mother recalls the story somewhat unique as she says it was evening and she was showering me before sleep time.
DadMomMe_LR.jpg

DR. Mentioned I could either be rationally restarted or Einstein… I lived with that a large portion of my life, supposing I was slow-witted or wasn't sufficiently keen.
JoeChristmas.jpg

NYT REPORT - Children Electrocuted
Commission staff investigations of wounds associated with hairdryers, hair curlers, and electric brushes appear to demonstrate that, in spite of the fact that a moderately modest number are damaged, they can cause serious or deadly wounds. Between July 1973 and August 1977, the examinations appear, 29 individuals were shocked by hair dryers and electric brushes, 26 of them while in the bath. Numerous casualties were little youngsters.
Two young ladies, one 3 years of age and one 5, were both shocked when a hair dryer, which was on a radiator alongside the bath, some way or another fell in while they were washing up. Their mom was in another room.
A 4-year-old kid, took off alone in the restroom for a minute after his mom had filled the bath for him, turned on a hairdryer he discovered sitting on a window ledge. His dad discovered him look down in 10 inches of water, and the boy spent 14 days in the hospital facility with collapsed lungs.

In 1975, hair‐care machines harmed an expected 1,611 individuals genuinely enough to require healing hospital room treatment. In 1976, the year in which Underwriters Laboratories issued considerably stricter well being guidelines, the quantity of wounds dropped 20 percent, to 1,246. Youngsters younger than 5 were harmed three times as regularly as individuals in other age gatherings.

Link::: http://www.nytimes.com/1978/01/16/archives/that-hair-dryer-could-be-dangerous-children-electrocuted.html

I love learning but I do need tons of notes to remember, I am now a multi media enthusiast for over 18 years strong!
Thanks to our heavenly Father for allowing me to live and share my story.
Thank you NYT for the article, and Irene Zamaro for assisting with copy.
Thank you steemit community.

Sort:  

Welcome in steemit my freind ❤️

Thank you elpop, for being the first to send me a heart.


Welcome to Steemit @vindieindie!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Thank you introbot! I will make use of the links provided.

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and love your photos and family.

Thank you Joey

Hi Thank you for #introducingyourself. Im myself quite new in steemit community but I realized that there are few things you could do to have a better start:
Mostly I invested a little bit in STEEM in order to purchase STEEM POWER and STEEM DOLLARS. Why? Its simply important. Without initial investment it will be very hard for you to build reach here and be noticed.

Im not sure if you ever heard about this site:
http://steemd.com/@your_username
Example: https://goo.gl/3mquu1
Perhaps you know it already :)
If you will reply to this message (that would allow me to believe that we may develop mutual engagement and help each other) then I will follow you and upvote some of your future posts.
Cheers and good luck.

This is extremely helpful and I will take you up on your advice, I believe in steemit and it's community of shareholders. Times have been tough lately, so not a ton of capital at the moment, planning for the best preparing for the worst. I appreciate everything.

Welcome to steemit
Hey dear
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment...Meet over 4k+ members and get to make friends from steemit all over the world including where you're from
https://discord.gg/WaeJXmE
Join the steemit school on discord channel today and learn something from the academy of life

Thank you Krystall, sounds good I appreciate all the resources I can get...

Congratulations @vindieindie! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @vindieindie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65355.67
ETH 3525.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47