MOVED FROM LONDON TO NYC RIGHT AFTER GRADUATING - Vince's Life #1

Hey guys!


My name’s Vincent, I’m 22-years old and it has just been over a month since I moved from London, UK to New York… I feel I need to provide a bit of context.

69317822_2290043731323798_3005125850359136256_n.jpg

What do I do?


I just graduated with a Master’s from the London School of Economics, in Management Information Systems. For a few years now, I have been very passionate about the integration of a computed sociality and blockchain technology, with Steem being at the forefront of it (I will get into this a bit later 😊 ). In following my interests, I dedicated my Master’s thesis to furthering my understanding of user involvement on the Steem blockchain/Steemit platform, uncovering the shifts compared to traditional social media models.

Why is this profile so old?


Funny story – I made this account a few years back, right before starting to write up my Bachelor’s dissertation. The topic revolved around exploring the interrelationship between (millennial) user behavior and social media capitalism (both digital labour and surveillance capitalism), evaluating the use of blockchain-based principles as a potential alternative/solution. I was aiming to take a different approach to my data collection for it. I was thinking of using Steemit to both document my progress, get feedback from you and actually take your input and essentially crowdsource the dissertation (in terms of opinion gathering etc). This however fell through due to the stringent regulations and timeframes at the time. You can still read the first post I made (I’ll keep it up haha).

The Future – Why NYC?


After four years in London, all related to my university/academic years, I realized I needed a change of environment and pace – a fresh new start. Having interned in NYC the Summer before, I knew that it was the right place for me. As major of a blockchain hub that London was, so is NYC. Now, I just started working at a market analytics firm, however I continue to explore the blockchain space, learn more, connect with like-minded people and that is exactly why I am here. I want to continue learning and attempting to further already existing algorithms, but it all takes patience, humility and hard work.

I want to learn, share and experience this journey with you. End goal? I am not quite sure yet, but I will make sure it is an exciting road ahead.

What do you want to see?


With everything being so new, I would love this to be as much about is as it is about what you all would like to see.

  • My student experience: How it was like studying in LSE/UK in general, tips throughout the process etc.
  • My background: My love for soccer, the sports I play, a bit more about my life (I have lived in a few countries before ending up in London!).
  • My journey: Weekly (or even more regular) updates on what I am up to in NYC, how the transition is like from student to working life.
  • The future: Constant discussions/debates on potential areas for blockchain development, with a focus on the social space.
  • ANYTHING!!! :D

    Thanks guys – I can’t wait to get to know you all better and share this journey with you!

    Vince

P.S. If anyone is in NYC – definitely drop a comment and let’s link up! Always eager to meet new people!

Sort:  


Welcome to Steem @vincelife.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

You can earn Steem rewards for reading and sharing your insights using our Highlights Extension

All the Best!!!

Hello steemladder!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Welcome to Steem and to NYC, I work in NYC but live out in Connecticut, I hope you enjoy your time both on Steemit and in the Big apple

Thank you so much!! How has it been working in NYC for you? :)

I have to admit I did want to visit here but never wanted to work here but I was dragged here kicking and screaming by the boss at the time and I insisted for one year max, been here for over 15 Years now and even though I am a country boy at heart and not a big fan of big cities I guess I have grown to love it especially that there is always new things to see the city is always changing

Congratulations @vincelife! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello @vincelife

It is great that you are here, a people who have been here in a long time, I am glad to be Welcome to Steemit & Wish you luck - success with Steemit!

If you are looking for ways to get more rewards with your Steemit account. You can find the way that suits you in this post.

I hope good things happen to you.

Best regards

Please ignore this reply if you do not need the above.

Posted using Partiko Android

Greetings, and Welcome to the Steem Community @vincelife!

I would love to feature your new introduction post in my weekly curation blog if you don't mind! You can find it on my @Ma1neEvent Profile.

You can also check out the @MinnowSupport Project (MSP) / PAL community on Discord Chat where you can interact, chat, network, and learn with other members of the Steem / PAL Community! There is even a Steem based radio station there with shows and music created by Steemians, @MSP-Waves! Hop in the @MinnowSupport Pond on Discord and say hello sometime if you'd like!

Thank you so much! I appreciate all the support! I will definitely pop by sometime and excited to meet you all :))

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Welcome to Steemit vincelife. The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. You should also check out DTube and DSound for starters and if you're a gamer, Splinterlands! There are many other cool apps but I can't list them all here, there's just too many! But I'd also like to mention Steempeak, it's a better blogging platform that has a lot of cool features. The latest project you should also check as a new member is a palnet! Welcome to the blockchain! :) Oh, and if you're interested in creating your own tokens or smart contracts, check Steem engine!

Welcome to Steem vincelife! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

I was once in NYC. Some say it is the best city in the world. Welcome.

Thanks so much! Really appreciate it. What was your experience like in NYC? :)

Pretty good. I prefer smaller cities. But for networking, it is exciting.

This post has been voted on by @acropolis introduceyourself in collaboration with the project @templo.

videotogif_2019.02.15_20.29.34.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73