Hi Steemers! Hoi! This is Vicky … Let’s explore California together!

Hello! 

My name is Victoria, I'm 32 years old and originally from Switzerland. I have been living in San Diego, California, for over 2 years now. This city has a lot of people who are invested in cryptocurrency and friends of mine made me aware of the Steemit community - I’m so excited to be here!

This is me two days ago. I did a good job making my name look
like it's icky.

Moving to a new country has been fun, mind-opening, challenging, and scary - there are still days where I ask myself „what the hell am I doing here?“. But Californians are generally very open and friendly and if you’re outgoing and keen to meet new people you will easily make friends! 

I was lucky enough to travel to many places all over the world before coming here and traveling is still my favorite thing to spend my time on. When I moved here to be with my American husband (who I met in San Diego on vacation!), I knew that globetrotting would have to be put aside for a while – finding a job and getting accustomed to my new home was a priority. Luckily, California is so beautiful and there are so, so many hidden gems to explore, there’s no need to leave the state for new adventures!

But living here can be tough too – you’re paying for the sunshine! Living costs are high and people are hard workers. What I love about San Diego is how culturally diverse it is. Being right next to Mexico influences the city with food, art, and architecture and the year-round good weather draws people from all over the US and beyond to come live here. 

My quest on Steemit is to explore San Diego and the rest of the west coast together with this community. Sharing my experiences with you will motivate me to get out of the house and leave my comfort zone more often. If you ever lived abroad I’m sure you know what I mean. It’s important to join local meetups, check out new places and have an open mind about things that are different (especially true when comparing everything to Switzerland, a very organized, clean and perfect little country ;-)) 

Have you ever been to San Diego or somewhere else in California? What was your favorite place? If you like to eat, spend time in nature, surf, and shop local then I’m sure I can help you with recommendations on where to go and how to get a authentic Californian experience out of your trip ☺ I have a knack for street photography and am absolutely obsessed with all the cool quirky houses and gardens in the beach community I live in - you will definitely see some of these pictures on my blog!  I hope we become friends and I can’t wait to show you my new home - for now, keep (California) dreamin’ ☺ 

Sort:  

Hello Victoria, welcome to Steemit and enjoy :-)

Welcome on Steemit Vicky! I love your post! I love the picture! You look like a very fun person to hang with!

Have fun and Steem on!

Thank you so much, teamsteem!

Hi friend. Glad to have you here.

Thanks, @duckmast3r, still trying to figure this all out!

nice introuction. Followed. Follow me back 😘

Congratulations @vickyandamerica! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

OMG! The pic of you on the bike reminds me of when I lived on 35th and Seashore in Newport Beach! (After college) Glad to have you on board!

Thanks, Karen! That sounds like sweet memories :-)

I do look forward to reading your future posts; so, hope for you the best in this much interesting & challenging environment. I like writing about several topics that call my attention, from travel, life, politics to science, food and technology. Here are some of my last posts, that if you can, read them and of course …. HAVE FUN.

https://steemit.com/engineering/@indepthstory/7-reasons-why-i-studied-mechanical-engineering-so-here-you-are

find them interesting and of value to you, well txs for the UPVOTE … !!! now, click on the FOLLOW and leave some comments to grow the network

… have a great life trip here …

@indepthstory

hello~ vickyandamerica, Follow & Upvote is a You and I great strength~

Welcome to Steemit @vickyandamerica!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60950.37
ETH 3387.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49