Blood, Lakes, Water, Birds and Blankets....A Day In My Shoes

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Hey Steemers

As I mentioned in my very first post, I have recently been diagnosed with complete kidney failure, I am now only just into my 10th week of treatment.

Part of that treatment is having dialysis three days per week. It takes about 5 hours out of my day each time.

When I was first told I had to have urgent dialysis, I had no idea what it involved.

I didn't even really have much of a clue what the kidneys actually do for your body.

So I figure that most steemers would be in the same boat as I was, with no idea what dialysis even is.

Here is my attempt to show you a day in the life of a renal patient.

Now I always try to walk to the clinic where I have my dialysis treatment. Its about a 40 minute walk at my current pace, and I find that this time spent walking is like a kind of meditation for me. It clears my thoughts and always puts me in a great mood.

I have a lot of medical complications due to the kidney failure, one of them is severe anaemia. This makes it very hard to walk for more than 10 minutes as I feel exhausted very quickly. But i keep pushing through because I know that walking is good for my mind and body.

These are some of the sights I took pics of from my walk in today.

enter image description hereLake Tuggeranong

enter image description hereNice weather today!

enter image description hereFound some friends on the way

enter image description hereTuggeranong Park

About 1000m further on I finally get to the clinic, its a sterile area and blocked off from the general public so have to press this buzzer and wait to be let in.

enter image description here

When I first get inside I check the board to see which machine I am on....today its number 5

enter image description here

This is a dialysis machine.

enter image description here

They hook up two tubes to my chest here....most kidney patients have whats called a fistula in their arm, but as i am new still i have this which i called a Vascular Catheter. The tubes go straight into my heart.

enter image description here

Now i have been hooked upto the machine (i call it a washing machine as thats basicaly what its doing) and you can see my blood running through out of my chest and into the machine.

Alot of people as if i can feel it, or does it hurt? No generally i dont feel the blood flowing. The only side affect i get is feeling really cold. Like i think the heater in this room is set to 22 degrees celcius, and i am very warm when i first get there, but one the blood is flowing i actually need a warm blanket to cover me other wise i freeze. This is comon with dialysis, you can see these three people who are having diakysis all using blankets as well.

enter image description here

And so it goes for 4 hours, i normally try to have a snooze, watch tv, they have free wifi so might do some stuff online as well.

Then its a reverse procedure to unhook me from the washing machine, and a check of my blood pressure, heart rate etc to make sure I'm OK.

A slight issue i have been having lately is after wards my heart rate is jumping up sharply, last friday my heart rate was over 150 and all i did was stand up!

I normally get my wife, Michelle, to pick me up after, and i usually am feeling pretty tired and just want to crash into bed.

So there you have it, a day in the life of a dialysis patient, thanks for reading through to the end, I wasnt sure if anyone would be interested!

I have attached this video in case you would like to know more about dialysis.

Sort:  

Thanks for the insight my friend..I am with you on your journey..sounds like you manage to remain very positive..Keeping the negative emotions at bay is the battle. Sounds like you're doing well on that front.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64