Allow me to introduce myself...

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemers! How's your day?
I’m a 29 year old freelancer/video editor/skateboarder from Croatia. I was born in Zagreb city and currently still living here.

Before we begin:
I decided to film an introduction video for steemit instead of just photos and interestingly enough the “steemer” who introduced me to steemit was also a skateboarder so in this verification video so I decided to make his favorite trick. This is for you, buddy! :)

My whole life I wasn’t getting along with the rules: Get up too early, force feed yourself, drive through insane traffic, work like an ant for a boss that sits on his ass while you make him money for his 3rd Lamborghini… Not my style. If you don’t build your own dreams, be prepared to build somebody else’s.

Between the age of 14 and 21, school was just an obstacle in the way of skateboarding. My only goal was to ride, not even girls interested me in that period. By the age of 20 I already travelled half of Europe competing in skateboarding contests - my pride and joy was 2008. second place in Prague for the Euro Game of skate contest.

I’ve worked in many places, from selling investments for a UK based company, to working as an independent consultant for an American Bank to working in a skateshop. I just don't see myself "acting" to be a businessman everday from 9 to 5, pay taxes, get a car, get a mortgage, get a home, get a wife, get kids, get a divorce, go bancrupt, die, repeat.

Thats why nothing beats the man that can do what he loves. Thats why I still skateboard, even after 15 years of blood and pain. From skateboarding tricks, to filming videos, or exploring the unknown to make good ghost stories, I only find joy in creation, everything else is not productive for me.
I love making ghost stories for steemit and usually these posts pay for the my trips, food, sleeping etc. So thank you steemerz a lot!!! :)

For me its all about freedom. Freedom to travel, to meet people, to experience. I don’t feel like I’m from this planet, but I do enjoy it. Do you?

Best,
Vermillion666

Sort:  

Niiice, that verification video made me smile ^_^ +1 bro and welcome to Steemit

Keep on skating in the free world.

Thanks NEIL YOUNG :)

Hi @vermillion666. I like watching skateboard videos, but I love reading ghost stories, so I'll be following your work.

Here's a very creepy video you might have seen - a mine explorer notices some very weird noises and movements inside a mine.

Here's a video from our YouTube channel... we were in the desert after a peyote trip, and noticed an elaborate rock maze 10 metres from the campsite, which, for some reason we hadn't noticed the day before.

Welcome to Steemit!

Very interesting stuff. Thanks ;)

It was great to read your introduction. Funnily enough when I was at school way way back in the early eighties I used to go the skate park and do some boarding. When I was there one day I noticed this chap who was shit hot, shall we say. The following Monday, Steve my friend at school came up to me and asked for me not to mention to anyone that I had seen him at the skate park. He was the bloke who was shit hot. Now Steve funnily enough was a member of the group who messed about, got in trouble and put down by the teachers. Steve kept his skateboarding secret very well right up to the very last day of school. One of his mates (not me) had informed the headmaster that the very boy who he kept telling off was in fact the World's skateboarding champion. Steve was embarrassed to receive the school's highest honor. We chuckled... Oh his name Steve Douglas https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steve_Douglas_(skateboarder)#Early_life but I can assure you that is not his real name, that still remains a secret, well not to me and Steve though...

he is the owner of dwindle distribution, right?

My son is doing a little skateboarding but nothing like what you did.Great job.
Welcome.

Great introduction man. Keep skating!

I think the cool part of steemit is being paid for what you love. No matter what you love exactly.

Can't wait to see other videos about skate tricks :P

Incredible. Skateboarding is a great escape, who wants to work a 9-5 anyway?

Exactly.

Hey, there, welcome to the community! I wrote an article about my experiences after 2 months of going at Steemit.com hardcore. Read it over as it may have some hints, tips and tricks of the trade that will help you better utilize the site!
https://steemit.com/life/@tee-em/confessions-of-a-steemit-addict-wisdom-thoughts-and-results-from-2-months-on-the-platform

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32