Developer gone nomad

nicholas-kampouris-218781.jpg

Hello steemit community! My name is Valentin and I like building websites, that's what I do. Up until a couple of months ago I was your average front-end developer and I did all of the things a developer is supposed to do:

  • start out as a freelancer
  • get a job at a startup
  • get financially comfortable as the startup grows
  • gradually become spoiled by your newfound wealth
  • try to fill the gaping hole in your soul by acquiring tech... more and more tech
  • eventually crack under the pressure and quit your job
  • embark on a journey of self-discovery

So here I am, like so many others of my generation, disenamoured with the trials and tribulations of the traditional 40 hour work week, I picked up my bindle and started off towards a destination that may or may not exist.

How does steemit factor in to all of this? Well the way I see it everyone and their mother is on Medium and it's become a crowded and noisy place, definitely not my scene. If I'm going to get any self-discovery done then I need a quiet and peaceful space to gather my thoughs and this could be it.

There's so much going on in the nomad scene nowadays, it's not just pictures of macbooks on beaches anymore. There's this guy who built that one site that everyone uses, he's churning out startups by the dozen... and they all do well. And don't forget about that girl that lives out of her van.

I'd like to craft my own version of this and tell you all about it. And I promise to keep the vacation photos to a strict minimum.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @valentin-rad! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hello, @Valentin-rad, In case this has been your first Introdusemyself Post i'm here to welcome you to Steemit. I hope you have a lot of fun here and you may follow me. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Why thank you, it's good to be here, I'm sure it will be a blast!

A new Steemian ^^ hello @valentin-rad I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Congratulations @valentin-rad! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62494.88
ETH 2428.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65