My Introduction, engineer, entrepreneur, traveler, in search for the real!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello people of Steemit. I am ready with my long overdue introduction. Specially with a nick name unrealisback, I should quickly verify that I am real. But then, what is real? Oh yes, we'll come to that discussion. For now, a little about me.


This is me, Lokesh, guarding my fort of books. I was born in a small town in India and now live in the capital Delhi. I have a degree in Electrical Engineering and Business Management. 


Books 

I love to read, though I don't mange to read as mush as I used to few years back, books still are very precious to me. Here are some of my favourites.

Travel

I don't just love to travel, I need to travel. I am driven by the need to see new places. I feel travel has helped me discover myself and I want to keep exploring the world till my body has the strength.

Beer and fries

I have lived and studied in Belgium for some time. And now one of my life goal is to master the art of making fries the Belgian way. My time in Belgium can be very easily described with just this picture.

Marriage 

I got married to Naina on 21 September 2015. It was the typical, larger than life, Indian wedding, with more colours in it than a box of crayons.

Finally, why the nick unrealisback?

Since a very young age I sometimes had a feeling of dissonance when I observed my surroundings. It was as if I had a memory of seeing things differently from how they appeared currently.

 At times I would find myself watching me as a third person, from outside. Unreal felt the perfect word to describe the feeling.So when I grew up and got exposed to internet, unreal became my nick. 

Now I am itching to talk more about Unreal. This idea that we may just be seeing a reflection of the reality, limited by years of training our senses, is very fascinating.One proof of it is the success of the surrealists like Kafka, Murakami who have been trying to challenge reality in their works, and people have been hooked to them.Hollywood has made fortunes out of this idea. But it's not something that's limited to science fiction. There are numerous spiritual texts that talk about it. 

The Bhagwad Gita talks about Maya,which appears to be yet it's not, it appears to be real because of our unconsciousness. Our minds are covered by clouds of tradition and we see the world through them. A small child who has never seen fire would not know it can burn, can you imagine yourself seeing fire like a small child? No your mind knows better.

But not everyone trusts in grey bearded men sitting under a tree in India. So lets look at what a scientist has to say. Watch this Ted talk from Jill Bolte Taylor, where she shares her experience of a brain stroke( you can watch it from 6:30 for the main stuff)

I am not sure if I have been able to make any sense to you all, but the feeling of unreal life altering. And no it's not scary,rather it's motivating, challenging me explore the hidden corners of my mind.

Finally I want to leave you with lines from one of my favourite books The Hitchhikers Guide to Galaxy.


Sort:  

wellcome

Love your wife's outfit.

Hi @daf, thanks, that's a tradition Indian outfit for wedding.

Yes, I know. I am desi. :D

Oops, didn't know that

I absolutely loved Siddhartha, and love the Murakami's I've read, but haven't read the one in your picture. Would love to keep hearing about your path through the unreal. Sounds like an altered state? Or alternate to everyone else's I guess.

Hi @sorcpenz, Siddharta is a fixture to my bed side table, gets better every time I read. Which one of Murakami have you read? Altered state? yes, and like you say alternate to everyone else's, that could mean that there one absolute real and we all have our perspectives? Will keep sharing my ramblings on this.

Norwegian Wood, Kafke on the Shore, and my fav: Hard Boiled Wonderland. He is some sort of genius of a writer and I wish I could get my writing anywhere close to his level.

I have heard amazing things about Norwegian Woods and Kafka on the Shore, yet to read them. I don't even try to take my writings in that direction, for me they are on a different pedestal. Since you like surreal literature, there's a book name The Strange Case of Billy Biswas, by an Indian writer, you should give it a read if you ever get a chance.

hi HO and welcome!

Hi HO,
Thank you @domino
It rhymes :P

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 7.4 and reading ease of 70%. This puts the writing level on par with Tom Clancy and F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Thanks for the analysis!

Awesome to have you on board!

@steemster1 Thank you, enjoying being here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61438.76
ETH 2384.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58