Let Me Introduce Myself - I'm Uniforce from Auckland ⚡

Hello Everyone!

I'm @uniforce. I am a Student and I'm originally from Germany but living in New Zealand with my family since a few years.

homesteading.jpg

source

Homesteading

Here, in the beautiful city of Auckland, we aim to live sustainably and in touch with the nature.
We have solar panels which we use for heating water. 9 out of 12 months our water is heated by solar energy only! We try to grow our grow our own food. In our garden we hve various fruit trees: Apples, Oranges, Peaches and Mandarin. We grow lettuce, Tomatoes, Cucumber, Chilli, Thymian, Dill, Carrots and more.

4 years ago my brother started a new exciting hobby: Beekeeping! I help out ocasonally. We make a lot of honey from the 3 Beehives we currently have. Our Family loves fishing! A couple of months ago me and my brother started spearfishing and and we have never looked back - diving is half the fun! :) .

Raising chicken

chicken.jpg

source

I am really intersted in chicken since I started raising them 3 years ago. I started out with 7 Brown Shavers (chicken breed) since they are very productive - they lay an egg every day - ha! Later other breeds were added: Susex, Buff Susex and leghorns. Then we got some ducks to mix things up a little. Long story short - We have about a hunded birds now roaming around freely in our (rather large) garden!

A bit more about myself: I play two instruments - the piano and the violin and I play in the schools orchestra.

As you can tell, homesteading is my passion! That includes healthy organic food and how to grow it; Especially topics about raising chickens, ducks and beekeeping are thing you will find in my blog.

I am excited to meet fellow homesteaders and all of you steemians from across the world!

Greetings,
@uniforce

Sort:  

This is awesome, not enough people spend time outdoors now, but that's just about everything that you do. Really cool story! I just joined as well, but welcome to Steemit! Just followed you, looking forward to reading more about the food you grow

Yeah thats true but i do really love the nature and just being outside :)

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and I love farms, gardens, home steading, and good work.

Welcome to steemit, I wish your chickens all the worms in the world.
Consider to host a Guineafowl on your homestead. Their eggs beat any chickens egg, in taste, but also in strength.

I'm not a homesteader, but I like to watch homesteading stuff non the less

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guineafowl
actually you may want a bunch of them as a little herd as you seem to have enough space for it.

Enjoy!

Not the most beautiful animal but you will be able to make the best pancackes in the world.

Thanks for the advice I'm not to sure about the Guinea fowls but thanks anyways. Also ill try to make my content as interesting as possible.

Welcome to the community! I just joined Steemit myself about 2 weeks ago. Make sure to check out Steemfollower since it is a great way to get upvotes which could be difficult at the start since you don't have that many followers! If you need help setting up Steemfollower, feel free to check out my Guide on How to Set up your Steemfollower!
Followed! Wish you all the best luck!

Thank you very much helped me out a lot :)

Hi @uniforce ! Great post, i like it, i just upvoted it ! PS: you may like to follow me ... @legsnheels

Welcome to steem! Good luck!

welcome to steemit, nice

Happy steemit !!! cheers

thanks and cheers to you as well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55499.23
ETH 2917.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30