Hi my name is Charles. I thought I would introduce myself and my dog Ace to this awesome community.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

My dog Ace ^

I hope this post can help someone else that has had similar struggles.

I struggled with social anxiety for years and made no progress. It took me years just to figure out what was going on. My mind would just go blank when trying to talk to new people or in situations where everyone is just standing around talking. Any mental preparation I would do would mostly be useless, but eventually I brought myself up to a level where I could actually talk to people and make friends. What made the difference was medication and board games! With medication it was just a matter of trying a lot until I found one that actually worked for me. I definitely give a lot of credit to science and modern medicine.

Board games helped because most board games don't really require conversation and so I could focus on playing the game without worrying about what I should say. They also allowed for conversation at my own pace and gave me the chance to meet new people and make new friends! So I just want to say if anyone has similar issues, give board games a shot! Even if you don't have huge issues with social anxiety it's still a good way to meet people. This is a picture of my 3 favorite board games. If anyone is interested in boardgames I suggest checking out http://www.boardgamegeek.com

 

My other hobbies are cryptocurrencies and books. I have been into Bitcoin since around 2011 and I look forward to all the innovative possibilities of the blockchain. I like how cryptocurrencies can remove the middle men and empower the people. I love how competitive the cryptocurrency scene is, and how fast it innovates. The more I read about Steemit the more it blows my mind! From what I have seen Dan seems like the biggest innovator in cryptocurrency and decentralized networks. I suggest everyone check out his blog it is fascinating. 

As far as reading goes I like fantasy and Science Fiction. A few popular series that I like would be: The Foundation, Harry Potter, Enders Game, Lord of the rings and A Song of Ice and Fire. 



Sort:  

You are so sad on a photo! Hope my upvote will bring you smile!

Sorry, I never learned how to smile in photos without it looking goofy so I don't even try anymore, lol.

Try laughing, that's how I noticed I actually have a great smile, when I laugh I smile genuinely so now I fake laugh to fake smile while appearing genuine lol. But laughing is when people look their happiest and its usually when they create the most beautiful looking, natural smile. just my two cents on how I learned how to smile.

Sounds interesting, I will try that.

Welcome! I happen to love board games too, and can definitely see how it would help with social anxiety. I am glad it help you out look forward to seeing you around.

Nice to meet you Charles and Ace!

Thanks for figuring out and explaining the benefits of board games like that. I'm really glad it helped you.

I've been designing a board game, and would love to get your feedback as soon as I get to the ready-for-feedback point. Would you be interested? Have had so little time lately. but back when I was working on it a lot, it warmed my heart to think that it might help someone in the way you describe. I hope to post something about this soon!

Yea just message me. Is it possible to message people on steemit?

Welcome! I too used board games to get through some anxiety/depression related issues a few years ago. And my dog! Dogs are the best at loving unconditionally :)

PS: Dominion is my favorite!

Yea I love Dominion, I have several of the expansions. I plan to get another deckbuilder soon. Not sure which one yet.

I have several expansions as well! I think Prosperity and Adventures are my current favorites! Definitely post if you find and other good deck builder!

Star Realms is pretty cool, it's two player and it only cost around 10-13 dollars.

I'll have to check that one out!

Your dog is so cute!

I want your dog lol! Glad to have you and your puppy Ace on steemit man.

hello bro, nice to meet u
if u need designer please callme
please vb 🙏

Nice dog like it,welcome!

Welcome! Glad to see this place growing by the day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56596.99
ETH 2394.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32