The Biology Undergrad Sure To Entertain

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

After 2 weeks 100$+ here on Steemit, I decided it made sense to introduce myself as the site has also grown and I am approaching 100 followers.

Anyways, hi everyone, my name is Ryan but I'd preferably be addressed by my steemit and youtube mononym, Trismegistus or Trism. Here's an old photo of me from a couple years ago.

introduce_me

I wish I had some kind of grand accomplishment or title to introduce myself with like so many on the people on introduceyourself trending page, but that's not the case. I can introduce myself however by saying I'm a Canadian university student studying biology who's passion is knowledge, nature and the universe.

The world is an astounding place, and the endless vacuum of space which surrounds us leaves me in indescribable awe every day that we learn more about it. It's for this reason my passion has become learning about the world and its people in all their fields of study whether it be learning about historic wars, artistic and academic achievement, the anomalies of nature or the political bickerings of right and left.

For me Steemit isn't about money, I mean, obviously it is a solid bonus... BUT, my whole goal here is to gain experience writing. I love doing my own research, I could sit for hours scouring the internet to find the answers to all the questions that lie out there. This is why Steemit is great to me, it allows me to do exactly that while also sharing my research with others who may find it interesting and be getting an idea of what kind of content people enjoy learning about.

introduce_me2

Going forward I plan to be cruising through steemit reading a few posts here and there, but my main goal is to continue posting articles and youtube videos that offer an entertaining and informative means of learning about topics that many usually have big misconceptions about. Some of the topics I've already worked on and want to ask/talk about with people are some genetic misconceptions such as with cloning (in light of learning some people believe Gucci Mane is a clone), Hox Genes, Hybrid animals and fertility, along with more philosophical discussions such as classics like Plato's Allegory of the Cave, Theseus's ship with modern topics like personal identity or autonomy and morality.

I don't want to simply teach in this videos either, I hope to open a discussion and pose the subjects in a different way that might make people think about them differently. Thanks if you read all the way through! I was running on a little bit by the end, but I hope this gives anyone interested a good idea of what kind of content I will be posting, so follow if you think my content would be for you!

Remember to

And Check Out More of My Content:
How Do Birds Find Their Way During Migration? The Emergent Field of Quantum Biology!:
https://steemit.com/science/@trismegistuz/how-do-birds-find-their-way-during-migration-the-emergent-field-of-quantum-biology
Most Massive Object in The Universe:
https://steemit.com/science/@trismegistuz/the-heaviest-object-in-the-universe-oc-video

Sort:  

It is great to see more people posting about science and biology here! I've never seen your posts before, but I followed you, and looking forward to seeing more science posts in the future ;)

Welcome! I totally agree that it is not about money, but a great bonus. You can check out my latest blog where I talk about it :)

Hey thanks, I checked out your blog post and i'm with you. Since I started making articles I wished there was a better community for science and philosophy content, or even just a way for beginners who are genuinely working hard on content to be picked up. I've been thinking myself of trying to start some type of community account or network, but I don't know how to go about it. I'm reallly with you that it feels like NOW OR NEVER in terms of building this community though.

You can start the trend! Just start writing. Create a challenge, a contest, something that will create a community through your post in philosophy or science. Go for it! :)

alright you motivated me! I will try and think of something :)

Welcome to Steem @trismegistuz I have sent you a tip

thanks appreciate it, will be sure to remember my man mcbotface when I make it big :P

Following you now. Brilliant intro post. I have a feeling you're gonna do really well here over time, you've a lot to offer.

Thanks! Appreciate the support, hope I meet your expectations :)

Already followed, and glad I did. Nice to meet you Ryan, I'm Lauren.

Welcome man! :)

Welcome to steemit - we have very similar writing philosophies I believe. Encouraging critical thought, and an enjoyment in research and general learning. I am one of the followers you mentioned in your opening statements -thank you for engaging with Steemit!

Thanks! Returned the favor and hope to see some great content from you too :)

Welcome to Steemit @trismegistuz

Nice of you to join us, it is a honour having you on this platform.

You can participate in the 50 Word Story Contest for new steemians for a chance to win Big.

Thanks I'll be sure to check it out, win myself a couple steem :P

Hello @trismegistuz

I am starting a new series next month where I interview Steemit Whales and dolphins and they tell what helped grow their blog.

So you might want to keep a close watch on my blog

Will definitely check that out! Following now and look forward to seeing it :) I hope to somewhere down the line be able to start a podcast of sorts where I can talk to steemians and others about science and philosophy, just trying to work on my following and content first!!

That is super creative @trismegistuz

There are no limitations to the things you can achieve here on Steemit. You are the CEO of your account and no one is stopping you.

Followed you

Congratulations on the first hundred!
Hope to hear from you and your stories!

Welcome to Steemit Ryan! I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75