You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Phoenix. I'm an artist and writer, and a survivor of childhood abuse.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

It's sad and difficult for someone as lucky as I was in my childhood to read that this happens to kids. Almost incomprehensible even. I just don't understand how people who are supposed to look after kids can do such horrible, detestable things.

Thanks for having the bravery to bring your story to light, these things should not be made to live in the dark where they can thrive.

I'm really glad that you're making progress towards dealing with the harm that you have had to live with, and welcome to steemit, Phoenix. I hope you can help and be helped by our community here!

Sort:  

Thanks for reading. I also found it incomprehensible as a kid.

More recently, I've read a lot of the literature about perpetrator dynamics and there seems to be an explanation:

People repeat traumatic behaviours, including abuse of children, because they have repressed their own memory of how painful it was to experience childhood abuse. Then, they express their pain, and 'tell their story', by acting it out as an adult, and forcing another child to feel and express all their disowned emotions. There's an interesting, but harrowing, book on this subject called: 'Dialogues With Forgotten Voices' by Harvey L Schwartz.

But, although I now understand the psychodynamics of it, I personally cannot understand how they did not see the pain they were causing me. The abusers were facilitated by the fact that British society tacitly endorses child-abuse in many forms to this day.

Thanks for the warm welcome to Steemit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64302.59
ETH 2654.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83