Beware Steemit, Timbo (@tj5553) Has Arrived! Well Ain't That a Fine How-Do-You-Do!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Steemit Photo.jpg

Hello fellow Steemians! My name is Timothy Meyer and, needless to say, I am new to the Steemit community. I stumbled across Steemit through coinmarketcap.com and started looking into it. I was intrigued by the concept, and pleasantly surprised by the community. Providing a positive community where people can express themselves, share information, and be a part of positive change/growth, all while potentially making some money on the side, how could I not join? I was actually so excited, I called a friend of mine that very evening to tell him about it. He is a very talented writer, but only does it as a hobby, since he is insecure about his work. I was hoping he could use Steemit as an outlet to express himself and get some feedback, helping him realize he is just as talented as myself and others have been telling him for years.

That aside, while I have technically been a member for a couple of weeks now, things have been pretty busy with work and life, so this is my first official post (I have made a few comments on articles/posts that stood out to me). I am excited to see what the future will bring, and I look forward to being a part of it. As for me, I am 29 years old, married, and a father of 1 (soon to be 2!). I grew up in the Dallas, Texas area and have lived here for most of my life, except for my time at college about 2-1/2 years down in Houston. Below you can see pictures of me and my family and the beautiful Dallas skyline at dawn:

IMG955330.jpg

20170507_060523.jpg

Granted, the photo is a bit old, but it was the only one with all 3 of us I could find at the moment. I am a very proud father and husband, and while I don't toot my own horn too often, I am certainly guilty of bragging about my kiddo and amazing wife.

I graduated college with a degree in Mechanical Engineering, but have taking a very roundabout method to actual engineering work. I started off coaching tennis (I also played it all the way through college), then got my teaching certification and taught high school math while also coaching at the school. From there, I got a job as a roughneck in the oil industry, but quickly switched to MWD (part of the directional drilling team).

20160125_180227.jpg

Finally, I began working in mechanical design, designing HVAC and Plumbing layouts for buildings. The entire story here has a lot of twists and turns, so if you ever care to hear it, just let me know and I'll be more than happy to elaborate!

My goal and purpose for using Steemit, is to become a positive part of the community, making contributions where I can and encouraging others when they are struggling. Above all, I strive to share God's love in my daily life. Unfortunately, I definitely do not always succeed, but this is indeed what I strive to do and hope to bring that love, hope, and happiness here. I hope to contribute in areas where I am knowledgeable, participate in discussions that I find interesting and enlightening, and provide an ear to listen or a shoulder to lean on when needed.

Thank you all for allowing me to be a part of this great and growing community and I hope to get to know many of you as we share our thoughts, concerns, hopes, fears, and so much more with one another! Have a Merry Christmas!

Sort:  

Welcome on Steemit! You are gonna like it really soon :D
I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Welcome to the steemit community Good Luck!

Great intro post @tj5553! Thanks for joining Steemit! I am @gogogadgetupvote and I found your intro post thanks to a link that @positivity420 sent me in my Daily "Introduceyourself Post" Bounty! I have upvoted and resteemed your intro, as well as given you a follow! Be sure to check out my contest post I linked, there are several useful articles linked at the bottom for new users!

Thank you @gogogadgetupvote, and thanks to @positivity420 as well! I'll definitely check out the contest post. You have been upvoted and followed! I greatly appreciate the warm welcome and all the friendly help and advice. Have a Merry Christmas!

I hope you have a fantastic rest of your holiday season as well, bud! Steemit is my favorite place online to spend time, the people and friendly atmosphere are really the best on the internet! Thanks for the support bud!

Thank you! From what I have seen and encountered so far, I couldn't agree more. I may not be able to help much at the moment, but I'll always support those who go out of their way to help others. Thank you again.

Welcome to Steemit! Yes, this is probably the most positive social media you can find right now. That is a great goal and purpose, I wish you the best and you have a beautiful family! Following and looking forward to more!

@diezeldiddy am also new and following you too.

Welcome to Steemit then also! I like that slogan on your page, very clever. Followed!

Thank you! My thoughts are the same concerning the positivity, and so far I have not been disappointed. All the best to you as well, and I hope you have a Merry Christmas!

Thanks! You as well

It’s interesting the path you took to get to your career. As an undergrad I’m often scared to explore my options or to take the road less traveled. I’m glad you weren’t. Never feel embarrassed to brag about your family, it’s all love! I hope you enjoy the steemit community! Welcome, can’t wait to see interesting insights from you and maybe even some engineering even though I won’t understand too much but I’ll try. Don’t feel pressured to post if you’re busy have a good time and make your articles with a piece of you inside. I’ll give you a follow and see where that takes ya!

Thank you, I won't hold back on the bragging then ;) As for being scared, I can understand that completely. To be honest, the path I took wasn't completely by choice, at least not at first. That being said, I wouldn't change any of it because it has helped to make me who I am today, and I am very happy and content with that. If I had any advice, it would just be to go for it. Apply for those internships, put yourself out there. Getting the job of your dreams right out of college does not happen too often, but if you aren't afraid to contact people, to really put yourself out there, you can definitely put yourself in a position that makes it easier to get that job (or even get that job itself). Just don't be afraid of failure. No one succeeds all the time, but as I have sadly learned through experience, if you are too afraid of failing to even try, you will forever be unable to achieve what you hope to. Best of luck in all your endeavors! I'll follow you as well.

Hello @tj5553 Happy to meet you and look forward to your posts. I just have one thing to say: Lets pray for Triplets! :) Best wishes to you and your family.

Haha! Fortunately, it will be just one. I don't think I could handle triplets... Thank you for the warm welcome and best wishes to you as well. Merry Christmas!

beautiful words, beautiful family and really interesting story full of twists indeed, though i am sure we haven't heard them all. anyways it was a pleasure reading your introductory post. I am newer here than you are, but won't keep me from saying welcome

Thank you for taking the time to read, say hi, and for the kind words! Hopefully we can learn and grow together in this community. I look forward to seeing what you have to share!

Welcome fellow steemian, as a newbie myself I suggest you read the FAQ if you didn't already, it helped me out a lot, enjoy your time here. :)

Thank you for the warm welcome and the advice!

Hi Timothy, nice to have you here with you, hope you will enjoy your time here. Looking forward to read more about you.
PS : Nice family picture ^^.

Thank you! I am happy to be a part of the community!

Welcome to steemit Tim :)
Just found you post through https://steemit.com/promo-steem/@mikepm74/the-fresh-five-for-december-16th-new-steemians-you-should-get-to-know and helped out a little by resteeming via @welcoming, my service where I share promising newcomers like you! Steem on!

Thank you @theaustrianguy! The support and warm welcome is much appreciated. I have been blown away by how kind everyone has been. Take care and have a Merry Christmas!

Great posts deserve great attention ;) Worth over 25 US-$ right now, nice :D congrats!

Thanks! I don't think it's quite that high yet, but in the end it doesn't matter too much. The rewards are nice and certainly something to look forward to, but ultimately they are secondary. Thank you again for your help in introducing me to the community and for the support!

It is, believe me :)
The $ number under the post doesn't show the right US-$ at the moment :) It is 5$, half in SBD.. So let's just say 2 SBD - alone those two are worth 11$ each :D Confusing, I know! Tomorrow I will post a Video explaining what I am talking about onmy blog, stay tuned!

Oh, I see. Well thank you for enlightening me on that! I'll definitely check it out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56542.34
ETH 2391.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30