Introducing myself: @thought.rush - cabinetmaker, amateur writer, sparkling dinner-party guest;steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hey everybody:

not a doge.jpg
She's a corgi, not a doge! That unshaven hobo is me, on holiday.

It's been a little while since I have joined up here, but now I have found the time to make good on my promises to myself. I'm going to blog like a champion, for you guys. I think I am at a stage in life, where I now have some opinions WORTH sharing.

Steemit Introducing myself.jpg

I'm really looking forward to getting some cross-talk and feedback from everyone. I think I have a pretty conventional [single-white-male] array of interests, but I'm sure there is something for everybody here. I'm hoping to write about all sorts of things. When I made my list, it grew too big, so I'm going to jumble it up, between some paragraphs about me.

  • the present and future of finance (yay crypto!)
  • Art Nouveau and Art Deco
  • What to do and where to go in Australia
  • DIY E-commerce as a side-hustle
  • My yoga journey

I'm a cabinetmaker by trade. I help run the family business, and we are planning for the time when they get to retire. Cabinetmaking is actually quite a technical industry. I was never drawn to making things; I was ever dismissive of manufacturing, thinking it was easy to do. It's actually a challenge every day, to make a fine product, and not as dull as you'd think.

  • Teardrop caravan construction
  • Crypto for altruism
  • Home interiors and design
  • What boys ACTUALLY mean to girls, and vice-versa
  • Rebuttals to MSM hit-pieces

Have you ever though about the children? And the world that they could be saddled with? Why are our industrial elite so obsessed with getting off-world? Why can't people be happy with a sustainable existence, on world, and what are they going to do about it? Honestly, it's driving me to want to actually JOIN a political party, to see what on Earth these people have to live for, and why we sponsor them to do what they do.

  • Round-ball football
  • Laser cutting for woodworking, and other CAD/CAM/CNC woodworking
  • The unending intricacies of courting women
  • Real, practical plans for good (personal) mental health
  • The absurdity of Australian politics, and it's dearth of talent

You know humans have made only one thing better at reaching consensus than crypto - alcohol! Listen, I don't mind a good celebration, but I don't understand people's NEED for mind-altering substances. I'm not straight-edge; I just don't like feeling sick during/after excessive consumption! I am pro-legalisation of some substances, and just as opposed to many others.

  • What our kids need to know, but is being concealed from them
  • The impossible ideal of interest-free finance
  • Furniture woodworking
  • Beautiful epistolary (and text ) relationships
  • Working a sensible workweek, whoever you are

I can't stand to read, watch, listen to the news. Western media quite physically makes me sick. No really, it upsets my anxiety! I wasn't always like this. After the scales fell from my eyes, I saw just how off-axis our world has been tilted by collusion. Governments, industry, clans and creeds. I don't subscribe to any of these. As a child, I was taught that was 'multi-culturalism' by the government. For a while, I was jealous, envious of successful cultures, with prescribed values, teachings and advantages, without wanting to leap into any in particular. Now, I'm a lot more libertarian about this stuff. I just want to be a good, local citizen. A clubman.

  • Trying to live a life without added sugar
  • The [Australian] tax implications of cryptocurrencies and digital tokens
  • Practical, possible self-sufficiency about the home
  • Living a life on one's own terms, without ostracising oneself from good company.
  • Extroverts, and the right arse-pains they can be

I get to see a shrink now, every so often. Honestly, she has been a better education than what I ever was taught at school. Knowledge really is power, and I am disappointed the kids don't get access to this expertise at school. It makes you wish there was a better kind of academy, for making better human beings. I am suburban, middle-class, and have a lot of friends who are teachers. And I wish they could follow their own scheme a little bit more. If there are any Americans with experience at charter schools, I'd love to hear real-talk, grassroots gossip about your investment in the kids.

  • Corgis!
  • The beauty of cussing
  • Low-waste, high recycling living
  • Kickass albums recorded post-Napster
  • Supporting valuable opinions from off-Steemit
  • Supporting valuable content from within Steemit

So team, when I post, will you help me out, and chit-chat with me? Maybe promote my content, because I am sure I am going to write stuff that you'll find worthwhile! I really am looking forward to engaging some decent thought on this platform, the only one I am actually interested. I'm not here for the tips, just the chance to champion the truth and spear-tackle the bullshit. Catchya!

// Oi, and if you want to hear from me on one of these topics, let me know in the comments! Cheers!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @thought.rush! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

Welcome to family :) Follow me back and I will surprise you on August 1 ;)

Whats up @thought.rush, welcome to steemit
Best of luck to your blog, check mine out. Don't forget to up vote.

Hii @thought.rush For Succses
Nice To meet You

#introduce my name @adeeba,
I come from #aceh Sumatra.
Welcome to #steemit for those of you who want to succeed here, I also want the same thing.
I am also new here #eSteem Still Many Learn from The seniors.

Nice to meet you all !!
Please follow and Upvote My account @adeba
Saleum Serta Meubahagia
Trimong Geunaseh - Thank you very much everything 😉

Hello and welcome to STEEMIT! This is an amazing platform which values good content from anyone / anywhere.
All that matters is that you add value to the community.
All the best!
You can read my story of getting freedom to express through steem in this article-->
My purpose and personal story on STEEM

Welcome to Steem @thought.rush I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hello @Thought.rush its good to see more new users around. Have fun in this community. I wish you many followers and new friends :-) Cheers @chrisx

Welcome my friend,I am @djnoel follow me ;)

Welcome to the amazing world of steemit. Followed. Follow me back 😘

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60009.56
ETH 3342.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42