STEEMIT: A WORLD OF PEOPLE WHO MAKE A DIFFERENCE

February 5th 2018, Monday, was when I received an email from Steemit saying that my registration was approved. Yay! So let’s get started. E9AD621E-914E-4844-836E-94C7EE5CEBAF.jpeg

Introduction -- this is the most awkward thing to do. Lol. You'll understand why as we go along.

I'm Ruth, my friends call me Ruthie. I'm 27, born and raised in Leyte.

I grow up in an extended family where Catholic beliefs and teachings are valued. My late mother who was a single mom raised me alone and made sure that I get the life that I deserved. Believe me, it wasn't easy for her. Her parents passed away before I was even born and her siblings are either in Manila or in Cavite. She had to work for a relative in exchange of her studies and had to work abroad to keep her going.

Fast forward to 1990, my mom got pregnant and had to raise me alone. Her aunt, her mom's younger sister, offered her house where mom can stay for the meantime. I haven't met my father, don't know his name, I know nothing about him. And that is why introducing myself felt so awkward when I was in grade school. My teachers would ask me who my father was, where he's from, and a whole lot more. I didn't know the answers, I felt lost. And I still feel the same.

My mom is the most selfless person I know. She would do anything for me and for the people she really cared about. I could feel her pain and the hardships she had to go through as I grew older. She was alone. She did not remarry because of her fears. She feared about betrayal. She feared about my safety. She told me it's going to be different if there's a man in the house, a different man, and not my biological father. She didn't want to put our own safety at risk. That's how she loved me.

My mom and I are very close, we’re like best friends. She was the kind of person who’d never get tired of listening to your pointless drama and was never quick to judge. I would always tell her how people made me feel, how my job was, my frustration and disappointments, my heartaches, and all other issues a single lady goes through. She was just right there, listening, telling me how beautiful life is, how lucky we are to have each other, that I should not be too stressed about anything especially if it’s not worth it, how she loves me, that she’s proud of me, and that I’m the only person that matters to her. I’ve always felt loved by mom. Despite of our situation, I remained grateful to her. I had never questioned her life choices. I respected her. I never asked about my dad’s identity because I’m already happy and content of my mom, of the life she gave me. And I knew that if I do, I would just make her feel sad. I didn’t want to remind her of the things that happened between her and my dad, whatever it was. I didn’t wany to hurt her.

My mom was my rock. She was the most beautiful human I’ve ever met. I didn’t want to lose her, I wanted to keep her. I even asked God to extend my mom’s life so we’d grow old together. But it didn’t happen. She joined our Creator last May 25, 2017, a month before her 65th birthday. My life crashed and I didn’t know what to do. I was at rock bottom, all of my plans for her vanished. She was my life. She was my everything. Now that she’s gone, I feel like I’m facing life alone. I know she’s just right beside me, looking after me, guiding like an angel. But I need her more than anything else in this world. I miss everything about her. No matter how painful it is, I still have to deal with it. Everything happens for a reason. I know God has better plans for me and I accept it.

Currently, I’m working here in Cebu City as a Quality Assurance Analyst in a sales company (BPO). I have to work harder to earn a living because I have to. I’ve been in this business for more than 6 years and this is my bread and butter. People may call this job a “NO BRAINER” but I don’t care, I’m proud of it.

So yeah, @thewandergirl because I love to wander around the streets of Cebu. I love to discover new places, new restaurants, and cute stuff. I’ll be posting more pictures here and I hope you like it.

That’s it for now. Thank you everyone and see y’all around. DDF1EA1E-5D51-411A-8A2E-B47724689110.jpeg

Sort:  

Thank you @thewandergirl. You're Mother sounded like an incredible person. What a Blessing :)

Welcome to Steemit and look forward to seeing you around here ;)

Thank you, Sir! Yes, she was! I miss her every day.

I’ll see you around!

Hi maganda, I'm giving away 10 Steem Dollars check my post to find out more

https://steemit.com/giveaway/@stevekelly/get-free-steem-dollars-huge-steem-dollars-giveaway

I will, thank you! I’d follow you, too.

Hi @thewandergirl ! Great post, i like it, i just upvoted it ! PS: you may like to follow me ... @legsnheels

Sure, I’d definitely do that!

Thanks by the way! I appreciate it.

Hi @thewandergirl, welcome to Steemit. Thanks for your detailed self-intro. I am here to support a newcomer with a little upvote. Hope you will enjoy your time here!

Wow! Thank you so much! I appreciate it.

Hello kabayan! Welcome to steemit😊 Have fun 😊

Hello there! Salamat nang marami! See you around!

Welcome to steemit ma'am enjoy po

I will po. Salamat!

Hello, and welcome! You'll find folks are friendly here. If it takes some time to lose your shyness, don't worry.

Yeah, I’m looking forward to blog posts that are worth reading. And yes, I’d love to meet all of you here on Steemit. Thank you for the warm welcome!

Welcome to Steemit, Ruth

Hello there! Thank you so much for the warm welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66924.37
ETH 3085.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71