Hello SteemWorld (my belated introduction!)

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Two months into Steemit, and finally doing the thing!

Hi SteemWorld, I am @thetreeoflife. I found Steemit through a friend a couple months ago, and decided to give it a try, since I had just deactivated my Facebook account (haven't once looked back!) and decided to start writing again. I am so glad I did!

A little about me. I am a life journeyer who has been on a path toward "waking up" to the world since I was young. In my early 20s, I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder type 1, and although I did struggle horribly with anxiety and depression, I never really bought into the idea that I would be medicated for the rest of my life (as I had been told by many professionals in the mental health field), so I dove headfirst into mental wellness and exploration of self instead. It has been a very long journey, and I would be foolish to think that I'm anywhere near the end of my self explorations, as it seems like the more I learn about myself, the more there IS to learn.


I believe we are given challenges in life as opportunities to grow and bloom. To me, this is the essence of humanity, as well as a mindset toward self awareness, and awakening to our inner core, and our own divinity

I work as a veterinary surgical nurse, and really enjoy medicine, but I am also a yoga practitioner who is working toward a teaching certification. I also have practiced Chen style Taijiquan (Tai Chi) for many years and used to teach that as well. I am a huge proponent of "mind medicine", in the sense that I feel that every person has the ability to heal themselves, and already have the tools within. I think our souls have great wisdom and knowledge that we can all draw from, and that one of the best connections to self-healing is through conscious breath work and subsequent self inquiry, which leads to a path of deep self awareness. There are literally no limits to this, as I have taken roads through meditation, breath, pranayama, chi cultivation, sexual exploration for wellness and connection (with self as well as with partners), Yoni exercises, tantric work, and most recently I have been diving into shamanic work, and am learning from a practitioner the ways of relationship to the world around me (and diving into the quantum realms as well!) I have generally felt both a calling toward healing modalities, and the need to share them with others.

I am no longer on traditional pharmaceuticals, and no longer meet the criteria for a person with bipolar disorder. I manage mostly without medication, though sometimes I will use herbs and other natural remedies when I am experiencing anxiety, excitability, or depression. Mostly though, I am able to manage through lifestyle, breath and meditation. It took a long time to get to this place, and for those interested in managing major mental illness naturally, please know that this was not a snap decision, and took a lot of very hard work, many years of therapy, continued vigilance and self awareness, and a huge amount of open mindedness as well as deep self acceptance, all with the mindset that maybe, some day, I may need to be medicated again (though... I don't really think that's the case. My brain truly feels transformed, and I believe that we as human beings absolutely have that ability, to truly and deeply heal from the inside out).

I am not sure where all this healing work is leading me, but I DO know that I need a life that is connected to the earth, to others, and to myself, and that part of this is the world around me also wakening to the connectedness, or to the new spirituality if you will.

About 2 years ago, I also experienced what I believe to be a spontaneous kundalini activation, right around the same time that I met my soul partner, husband and twin flame. Being married to a twin flame is NO JOKE, and for that matter, kundalini activation is NO JOKE either. Both things have tested ALL the strength within me, but have also brought me to a place in life where I am more ready to dive in deep and explore what there is to explore. I have less fear and more awareness, but I also know I am nowhere near done.

My husband and I are also on the verge of taking on a lifestyle change, toward off grid living. We are already in a sense "suburban homesteaders", and learning lots of things to prepare for when we have our bit of land with our homestead. We love foraging for mushrooms and herbs, are currently learning how to compost humanure, and have learned how to dehydrate all kinds of things, as well as other methods of food preservation, especially fermentation. We are both excited and nervous to take the leap to off grid living, but very passionate about it, as we feel that self-sufficiency is the best path for our future, and for the future of those around us (without getting too political in this post!).

Since joining Steemit, I've found an amazing tribe in @naturalmedicine, and just absolutely love the group. I am learning so much, and even started interviewing other members, which is an absolute blast, and an amazing way for me to connect with others. I've also found amazing homesteading groups like @ghscollective as well as @freedomtribe, which are constant inspiration to me. Just really digging this decentralized platform, and all the amazing, talented, brilliant folks that share their knowledge here.

IMG_3691.JPG
yoga... and a favorite asana, what I like to call "ecstatic camel" :)

Other than that, I am just enthusiastic about life, about learning, and about experiencing and connecting, and have generally too many hobbies. Thanks for reading my belated introduction post, and I look forward to connecting with you all, and sharing and learning as we all move through this thing called life. Steem on!

Xx Tree of Life (because we can only grow as high as we dig our roots in deep!)

All images are my own!

Sort:  

Nice to meet you.... 😆

We love you, and I love your wisdom and am totally inspired by it.

😊🙏🏽☯️💜💚🌿

Meta brotha, you are brilliant and I look forward to many more nice conversations with you. 😊 🙏

Hi @thetreeoflife, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity and the trail!

If you want to support us, please consider following our curation trail on Steemauto.com or delegating STEEM POWER to us.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Welcome to Steem! Glad you have already connected with a community, Steem can be notoriously difficult without some support! That's one serious yoga pose there... I think I would suffer greatly if I tried it...

I have visited as you were featured by @porters for @pifc.

Thanks @bengy! It's one of my favorites, a great heart opener. Thank you for the support, I will have to check out this "pay it forward" initiative!

Xx ToL

Hey @thetreeoflife, it was so great to get to know more of your story. Thanks for sharing!! I am also a Tai Chi practicer, but only for about 1 1/2 years now. I feel fortunate to have had over 5 tai chi teachers due to traveling previously and got to practice Chen, Yang and a form called Tree of Life (coincidence?) but now I am have been with the same teacher for close to a year and practicing Yang. I really enjoy it for all the reasons you mentioned! So excited for your journey toward offgrid and preparing for your future homestead .. it must be so rewarding! Keep up the good work :)

Yeah, how did we not know this?!? Would love to rap with you about that!

Posted using Partiko iOS

@sagescrub I didn't know you were into tai chi..which of you is this? Did you ever catch the interview session on two chi and yoga been myself and @thetreeoflife? And on a previous radio chat @metametheus and @thetreeoflife talked about the forms so now I even know what you are talking about!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey riverflows :) this is sagescrub the he (not idyllwild - she is more into yoga). No unfortunately I did not hear the interview but I would love to. I have not been listening to many radio shows on account of my limited satellite bandwidth but i found out that discord audio idoesn't take as much bandwidth as I thought. Do you have a link?

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh I'd love to see what Tree of Life tai chi is all about! 😊

Oops I just looked it up and realized I got it wrong. It's called longevity tree form. My memory got the best of me! It is a nice form, but I didn't practice it very long.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll be looking it up! It sounds beautiful and right up my alley.

Welcome welcome welcome! I know we’ve already had great discussions, but it’s wonderful to have learned a little bit more about yourself. I have a very strong proponent of mind medicine myself as I work very closely with my mind through meditation and mindfulness in order to work towards treating schizophrenia without pharmaceutical drugs. That’s awesome that you practice and taught Chen Tai Chi! I have personally been thinking about trying to find a good practitioner in my area, I took one college class on it and it was great. Anyway, thanks for the awesome introduction keep up the great work especially with the interviews!!

That's awesome @alchemage, I used to teach at a local college in Denver a night a week, it was so cool to see young people learning tai chi... And the people who would get really excited about it! Teaching is always worth it, but I'm not sad to be taking a break from it for a while.
Bravo for managing illness naturally. In western culture mental illness (especially BP, schizophrenia) is so often treated as an illness... I mean that vs. the way its treated in other cultures, where a person with schizophrenia would be "adopted" by the whole village, and seen as an awakening soul who just needs a little help and guidance. They turn out to be the great natural healers of the world sometimes, and I think that maybe it holds true for some in western society, who have the open-mindedness to see it as a stepping stone rather than a death sentence.
Thanks for sharing, and gratitude for your presence! On steemit and also for showing up as yourself in the world. I can tell, you practice that well! 😊🙏

You are welcome! Nice to have such interesting people here like you. Self-sufficiency is a very good thing, I think. We all should be able to look after oneself. Have much fun here on steemit! :-)

Thank you @steemflower, I like your name 😊🙏

Welcome to Steem thetreeoflife! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

WE ADORE YOU.. YOU ARE THE BESTEST!

You guys are the best, I'm constantly inspired by every person in the group. I forever appreciate your existence on steemit!

Congratulations on deactivating Facebook!! Since I joined steemit, I never used it. Great of you to make this post even if it is a couple of months late hihi so "welcome" 💚

Golly I don't even miss it. I've considered posting some steemit blogs on Facebook (which is part of how I found it) but my mental health really is so much better without it. Haha I feel the ads as soon as I log on and I die a little inside. 😂 Dramatic, but a little true. 😂 Thanks for the warm welcome!

Hey @thetreeoflife, Welcome to Steemit, This is a great platform. If you find anything about this platform difficult to understand please contact me and I will gladly help you. I am here to help. I wrote a piece on how Steemit operates a couple of months back which explains how it all works, it is in my blog. If you like please give me a follow. I write about tech/blockchain regularly, I also plan to do more on photography which is one of my passions. I will keep an eye out for and support your posts going forward!.

Well. I will certainly be taking you up on this offer, as the techy and decentralized nature of it is a learning curve for me for sure 😂
Following your flow! Thanks, I do appreciate it! 🙏

Glad to hear it. Do check out some of my reviews- i tend to dive into a lot of detail when discussing projects- You can pick up quite a lot from it! any other questions just shout!

Will do @cryptoguru1 thanks a bunch! 😊🙏

No worries, I am here to help

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65969.85
ETH 3429.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68