Hi Steemit! It's Jess!

Hi steemit!

This… is me! My name is Jess!

histeemit

I learned about steemit through my friend who spends a lot of time researching and investing in cryptocurrencies. He told me about steemit and suggested that I join the community. It took some time, but I decided to give it a shot so here I am. I have a pretty private online presence up to this point so this is definitely a new experience.

So who am I?

Up until recently, my intro would be “Hi I’m Jessica, I work in corporate finance. etc. etc.” given that most of us lead with what we do as our definition. That changed a few months ago when I got laid off from my job. It’s strange when you hear that kind of news. There were rumors that our office could be closed for a long time so I had a lot of time to think about it. In a hypothetical world I thought, this will be great! I can get double pay if I get a job immediately and get severance! Flash forward to earlier this year: I’m visiting my aunt and uncle in Taiwan with my mom and at 10:30pm I get an email from my boss telling me that the office is closing. Maybe it’s because I was already on vacation when I heard the news, but I realized I was a) happy for the change and b) totally not getting a job immediately.

Now it’s been 5 months since my last day at work. It’s been quite an interesting time for me. I’ve gotten to spend my time seeing friends, traveling, trying new things, and just enjoying life. I’d love to share with you some of the fun experiences I’ve had over this time period and beyond.

I’m a big time food and travel lover. I spend most of my time eating my way through New York City and try to jet away as much as possible. I love love love finding new spots and sharing them with friends, family, or anyone who will listen ☺
(Pictured here in Tokyo with my friend Okura)

Okura

Food is one of my greatest loves. There’s just something about digging into a delicious bowl of ramen, paella, or oxtail, eating it down to the last bite, and feeling full of incredible food. Fun tidbit – I’m someone who likes to save the best for last so that perfectly cooked egg in my bowl of ramen will be floating around til my last bite! I know it’s silly, but I love ending on a high note! Be prepared there will be many photos like this of me diving into something delicious.

nom

I will forewarn you. I make tons of funny faces. I know most bloggers keep everything prim and polished, but that’s definitely not who I am. I’m a big goof and there’s no hiding that fact so here I am steemit world – silly, weird me.

As for the travel side, I definitely got bit by the travel bug and I can thank my mom for that. She’s the one who built up my love for trying new things and is one of my favorite travel companions. I’m sure she’ll pop up on here from time to time along with my fiancé Paul and many of my friends.

mom

Other interests of mine:

  • Fitness, in particular yoga, pilates, and barre
  • Photography – I’ve been spending a lot of time trying to improve in this space so your comments in that area will be much appreciated!
  • Music – I love going to concerts. Favorite bands – Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Strokes, Radiohead, etc.
  • Nerding out over Game of Thrones and other fandoms
  • Reading – I tend to read a lot of NY Times Bestsellers and books that become movies and of course things like Game of Thrones and Harry Potter. Currently reading All the Light We Cannot See.
  • Being with friends and family

Most of all, I love sharing all the great experiences I have with others. So that’s what led me here. My hope is that my ventures provide some fuel for your own adventures. Come along on this journey called life with me.

Sort:  

Hey Jess! Welcome to Steemit.

Thanks for posting your "verification picture" first. It caught my attention.

It's great that you have had the time to spend time with friends and family after your job ended. Steemit is a good place to connect with people from around the world and maybe make some new friends.

Keep posting!

Hey Jess, great post. Sorry to hear u got laid off. Steemit is here to support you, hopefully you can find a better job :) Life is always filled with ups and downs just like those crypto candle sticks. Keep sharing! @CryptoDill

Thanks @CryptoDill! Really appreciate the support. :) I like to believe that everything happens for a reason so excited to see what the next chapter brings.

Nice one dear friend, you are welcome to steemit community, I enjoyed reading your posts looking forward to more of your posts.

It like the fact that you enjoy goofing off and saving the best for last, I think Steemit will benefit from more authenticity & great personalities like you Jess. It's a lovely intro & nice write up. Feel free to ask any questions there is a lot to learn here.

Is your friend who recommended Steemit already here? Let me know and I'll send some love their way as well.

Dj

Thanks so much for the positive feedback :) I'm still trying to figure out the platform but really enjoying it so far.

Thanks for the offer but funny enough my friend didn't join steemit! Definitely going to tell him to do so.

Hey Jess! Welcome to the Steemit community! I really like the owl! Upvoted and Followed. If you could take a look at my channel.

Hi @shanky4290! Thanks so much! Just followed you back!

Thank you really appreciate it!

Use @MinnowBoosted
To Boost Your Rewards!

Congratulations @theredbeanpanda, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that @originalworks will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Thanks so much! Happy to be here!

welcome to steemit! you have a lot to share which is great for our community. looking forward to your posts and adventures

Thanks so much! It's very exciting to be here.

Welcome! I just signed up today as well! Let's follow each-other and support each-other and make some money!

Thanks! Just followed you back! Great intro post by the way.

Welcome to Steemit @theredbeanpanda I hope you have a great time and have many successes. Greetings

Thanks so much @naideth! Wish you all the best too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66