Introduction: Lifestyle Freedom, Environmental Sustainability and Social Justice… @therealdeal

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemers! My name is Vick, and I call my blog The Real Deal. 

My Story: Escaping the Rat Race and Living the Life of My Dreams

Three years ago I was sitting in cubicle #347 in an enormous office building. My job was to scan insurance claims for errors. (Doesn’t that sound EXCITING!?) I made $10 an hour and felt fortunate, since I was living at the time in a west Texas town with a declining population and failing economy.

Today, I own my home. I’m debt free. I save more money each month than I have at any other time in my life. If my plan goes as planned, I should be able to retire comfortably by the age of 45… even though I only work about five hours a day.  I control my schedule completely.  I wake up when I’m ready and I get to take breaks whenever the mood strikes me. I’m able to meet my basic needs in ways that fulfill me deeply and enhance my life. 

My Modus Operandi: Empowering and Inspiring Others

What changed? My mindset. I stopped running the rat race and paying my dues to Babylon. I stopped fantasizing. I started pursuing my goals. I started living in alignment with my own values. I took steps to make my dreams a reality.   And that is what my blog is all about. I want to use this social media platform to inspire and empower others to take their first steps on a journey toward the lifestyle freedom they’ve always dreamed of. I want to call attention to the most important matters impacting humanity today, like climate change and global socio-economic injustice.

My Blog: Lifestyle Freedom; Environmental Stewardship; Social Justice

* Self-empowerment

* Goal attainment

* Extreme early retirement

* Lifestyle freedom

* The tiny house movement

* Social justice

* Environmental sustainability

* Permaculture Feminism

* Anti-racism  

These are the kinds of things I’m going to talk about on my blog, and not in abstract way. I’m going to tell you the raw truth about my own experiences in life, including my biggest mistakes, so that you don’t have to repeat them for yourself. I’m going to offer clear, actionable steps you can take to improve your life while moving in a direction that makes our precious blue planet a little better for everyone. 

My Community:

Actually, the desire to reduce my negative impact on our global environment was the factor that got me started on my life changing journey. I now live in the nation’s premier sustainability focused intentional community, called Dancing Rabbit Eco-Village. If you’re interested in learning more about the amazing place where I live, check out the video below.

We have more than a dozen tiny sustainable houses within a few yards of each other, along with solar panels, wind turbines, organic gardens, a community dance hall, a fabulous swimming pond, and so much more.  In fact, I often write about Dancing Rabbit, in addition to many topics related to the tiny house movement, as a regular columnist for two major blogs: The Tiny House Blog, and Tiny House Listings.

Also, if you want to keep tabs on the awesome content that I will be offering going forward, make sure to click the follow button in the top right-hand corner of the screen.

Talk soon,

- Vick @therealdeal

Sort:  

Awesome post; welcome to Steemit! I've been on the Dancing Rabbit mailing list for years now and am excited to see what you'll be sharing with the community here. Cheers!

Hey RP, that's great! Do you plan to come to our Open House on Sept 10th?

FYI, I live at Dancing Rabbit Ecovillage as well. I'm hoping @therealdeal and I can get enough traction with Steemit that we can convince our community to accept Steemit.com. We have a local currency that is accepted for everything that you could want to buy in the community such as rent, food, transportation expenses, etc. I think it is a real possibility we could get Steemit to be just as widely accepted.

Greetings!
So GRATEFUL to read this post. It is very rare to find people running their own "business" and even far more rare to find people living sustainably and in community!
I know A LOT about both of these things as I haven't had a job/boss in 15 years nor paid taxes or bought stuff at stores. I also founded @gardenofeden a sustainable community with the lowest carbon footprint in the country.
Our life is truly awesome not just because we are healthy and happy but we are improving the world around us every day influencing thousands.
I will be following you on here as I feel we will have much in common to share/discuss and appreciate~
Infinite Blessings~*~
https://steemit.com/community/@gardenofeden/a-delicious-taste-of-the-abundantly-free-life-in-our-sustainable-community

Hey Quinneaker, thanks for touching base! Your community sounds awesome.

Can you give me some insight into how Garden of Eden knows it has the lowest carbon footprint?

Well no one really knows anything. Though I have not seen an organization of ANY kind with a lower carbon footprint. Its somewhat of a lengthy math equation but simple math none the less. All one has to do it calculate the carbon footprint of every action, resources used, etc.

inspirational - looking forward to more

Thanks Penelope. For now, I'll probably be posting once a day or so.

Chose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.

That's the truth.

What's the best birthday cake you ever ate?

Welcome to Steemit! I hope this proves to be a good use of your time.

That goes double for you. ;)

Greetings!
So GRATEFUL to read this post. It is very rare to find people running their own "business" and even far more rare to find people living sustainably and in community!
I know A LOT about both of these things as I haven't had a job/boss in 15 years nor paid taxes or bought stuff at stores. I also founded @gardenofeden a sustainable community with the lowest carbon footprint in the country.
Our life is truly awesome not just because we are healthy and happy but we are improving the world around us every day influencing thousands.
I will be following you on here as I feel we will have much in common to share/discuss and appreciate~
Infinite Blessings~*~
https://steemit.com/community/@gardenofeden/a-delicious-taste-of-the-abundantly-free-life-in-our-sustainable-community

I quit my office job 9 months ago to pursue a new life and exciting dreams here in southern Chile, and I haven't looked back since. Sustainability is a big interest of mine so I look forward to reading your experiences!

Welcome to our Steemit community! :)

Thanks for checking in Tmendieta - do you know of any permaculture projects happening in Chile right now?

No problem, therealdeal. I have a friend here in Valdivia who's really into permaculture and knows lots of people who are, too. Here's some links you can check out:

https://permies.com/t/56988/south-america-central-america-mexico/Beautiful-Chilean-lakeside-permaculture-farm

http://comuntierra.org/site/blog_post.php?idPost=212&.&id_idioma=2

That is very interesting. Tiny houses have always interested me.

I live in a 120 square foot straw bale house, and find that it meets all of my needs at a tiny fraction of the cost of most contemporary homes. The tiny house lifestyle comes highly recommended from me. :)

Hey great presentation can't wait to read your articles. Bye

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62300.84
ETH 2421.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56